You are here

From Cradle to Grave: How Demographic Processes Shape the Social World - Sociology 151/ 251

SOC 151 / 251 - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Saperstein, A.
Last Updated: 16-May-2013

From Cradle to Grave: How Demographic Processes Shape the Social World - Soc 151/251

This guide is a resource for students in the course on "Social Consequences of Demographic Processes", a course taught by Professor Saperstein.  According to Saperstien, the focus of this course emphasizes "social demography" by working to understand the broader causes and consequences of demographic patterns. 

Links to international statistical sources, national statistical bureaus, country studies, newspaper indexes, demographic indicators, Population survey, as well as journal literature databases are listed here as starting points for your research.

 

If you need assistance with these or other library resources, please contact the librarians listerd here. 

Subject Librarians

Government Information Librarian, State, Local and International Documents
(650) 723-2851
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(831) 251-5700
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Demographic Indicators

National Statistical Bureaus

Journal Literature Databases

Family studies database (Family & Society Studies Worldwide) - Covers research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.  Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.

GenderWatch - Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's.

JSTOR - Provides back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.

Sociology [electronic resource] : a SAGE full-text collection - Database of full-text journal articles in Sociology p published by SAGE.

Scopus - Database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers Health Sciences and Social Sciences.

Sociological abstracts - Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Social Science Citation Index - An international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of the social, behavioral, and related sciences.

News sources

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blog
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, medical and references.

Additional Data Sources

Data Finder - Population Reference Bureau 

The international data in PRB's DataFinder are from several Population Reference Bureau data sheets: World Population Data Sheet 2007-2012; Family Planning Worldwide: 2008 Data Sheet; The World's Youth 2006; and 2005 Women of Our World. Additional international indicators in DataFinder were compiled by PRB staff, primarily using national surveys including Demographic and Health Surveys; UNICEF Multiple Cluster Indicator Surveys; CDC Reproductive Health Surveys; UN, World Population Prospects: The 2007 Revision (2008); UN, Urban Population, Development and the Environment 2007 (2008); and UNICEF. Sources for each indicator appear as footnotes for that indicator. More detailed sources are available from PRB.

Demographic and Health Surveys 

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition.

For getting started with data, see: http://www.measuredhs.com/data/index.cfm#CP_JUMP_13446

In DHS - Country Quickstats .  Quickstats list the most popular indicators and provide an overview of a country's demographic and health issues.

Gapminder World 

Gapminder is a non-profit foundation based in Stockholm. Gapminder provides data visualizations for time series of development statistics for all countries.

US Census' International Data Base 

The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. This resource is useful for finding ready-made population pyramids. (To find them, choose "Population Pyramid Graph" from the pull down menu under "Select Report".)