Crafting Credibility: Rhetoric and Authority

PWR 1LP - Winter 2015 - Instructor: Luke Parker

A guide for PWR 1LP: Crafting Credibility: Rhetoric and Authority

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. Note the Library Location of these materials. Many are in the Information Center collection on the 1st floor of Green East.

5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, [2010]
Green Library » Information Center » HM1011 .H37 2010 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » HM1007 .E53 2007 V.1

Some interesting titles - take a look!

Here are some books that touch on the topics you are considering.

This is an interesting historic text  -- a conference proceeding from a meeting of power executives about how to make the industry more credible -- surely there are similar texts from the 21st century!
Sterling, VA : Kumarian Press, 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » JC337 .B76 2008
From the publisher's summary: In many countries, civil society organizations (CSOs) are more trusted by the general public than businesses and government. Business leaders might maximize their profits at the expense of the business or its customers, and government officials might use their power for their own gain, but CSOs depend on their good reputations and performance in order to mobilize resources. They have fewer opportunities to convert resources into self-interested uses. Recent experience suggests, however, that civil society leaders can also be guilty of self-interested behavior, even though the rewards may be less dramatic than they are in other sectors. 
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1984.
Green Library » Stacks » HD8038.A1 A88 1984
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2013.
Green Library » Stacks » HM1251 .F87 2013
2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, c2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Finding Articles: Suggested Databases

When you are just starting, it's a good idea to use the ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER database. 

There is also a selected set of SUBJECT-SPECIFIC DATABASES you may want to try.  

Additional suggested databases for this class:

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This database is great for regional and international coverage of an event or topic. Great for illustrating journalistic rhetoric.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : University of California, 1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington : Federal Register Division, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » J80 .A283
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource