Critical pedagogy

This guide is for those interested in critical pedagogy in all its many forms, including culturally relevant pedagogy--both research and practice.

Background information

Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB2805 .E528 2010 V.1
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC196 .R68 2009
"provides an international analysis of the relationship between power, knowledge, education, and schooling."
"This handbook illustrates how education scholars employ Critical Race Theory (CRT) as a framework to bring attention to issues of race and racism in education."
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC196.5 .U6 R33 2015 V.1
"In this unique two-volume work, expert scholars and practitioners examine race and racism in public education, tackling controversial educational issues such as the school-to-prison pipeline, charter schools, school funding, affirmative action, and racialized curricula."

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB880 .F732 D372 2018
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC196 .M47 2018
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC196.5 .U6 E43 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1029 .N4 NO.155

Journals

Montreal : Paulo and Nita Freire International Project for Critical Pedagogy Greensboro, NC : University of North Carolina Greensboro
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Thousand Oaks, Calif.] : Sage Publications, ©2003-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking