You are here

CSRE 55M: MMUF Seminar

CSRE 55M: Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Seminar - Fall 2012 - Instructor: Dr. Jose David Saldivar with Cristina Lash (TA)
Last Updated: 1-Apr-2014

This seminar is designed to help Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellows (MMUF) honor students in the following ways: (1) developing and refining research paper topics, (2) learning about the various approaches to research and writing, and (3) connecting to Stanford University resources such as the library and faculty. 

Subject Librarians

Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(831) 251-5700
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Head of Public Services and Processing Manuscript Librarian
(650) 724-4613

Archives

Finding collections...

[Alexandria, VA] : Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., [2008]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Mountain View, Calif.] : RLG
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oakland, CA : California Digital Library, [199-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » Z695.83 .O3

Encyclopedias & General Sources

Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » GA101.5 .C53 2011
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E185 .E554 2005
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HQ21 .G67125 2008 V.1
English ed. London ; New York : Berg, 2012.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » N72 .S6 H33 2012
New York : Oxford University Press, 2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Thousand Oaks : SAGE, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » PN1590 .S6 S24 2006

Article Databases

America, history and life with full text
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
ATLA religion database
The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. 
Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Database of articles from numerous periodicals about women's issues. May be searched using keywords and/or selections from a set of thesaurus or controlled vocabulary entries.
ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system designed to provide users with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature. ERIC, established in 1966, is supported by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, and the National Library of Education.
Ethnic News Watch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Humanities & social sciences index retrospective
Provides citations to journal articles covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. 1974-1983.
GenderWatch
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's.
IBSS -International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 
Bibliographic database compiled by the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science.
LexisNexis Statistical Insight
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
Project Muse
Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Psycinfo
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
SCOPUS - Social Sciences
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Social Science Citation Index
An international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of the social, behavioral, and related sciences.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Sociology
Sage Journals Online - See also "Journals" tab.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Women and social movements, international : 1840 to present
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.

Newspapers

  1. Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertis...

  2. This enormous collection of African-American newspaper contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 18...

  3. African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans.

  4. A compilation of African American newspapers taken from the America's historical newspapers collection

  5. Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

  6. UMI.. 2000

    Includes over 1,000 periodicals and 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals covering the years 1740-1900.

  7. Ser.1, 1690-1876. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's author...

  8. Search the comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. ...

  9. Online version: (1868-1929) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection include...