Table of Contents
Practice
- Integrative strategies for the K-12 social studies classroom
- A handbook for history teachers
- Teaching history creatively
- Civics in a digital republic
- Using new technologies to enhance teaching and learning in history
- Let the music play! : harnessing the power of music for history and social studies classrooms
- Building students' historical literacies : learning to read and reason with historical texts and evidence
- Taking part in democracy : EDC
- Strategic support for decision makers : policy tool for education for democratic citizenship and human rights
- Educating for democracy : background materials on democratic citizenship and human rights education for teachers
- Growing up in democracy : lesson plans for primary level on democratic citizenship and human rights (EDC
- Living in democracy : EDC
- Enlivening secondary history : 50 classroom activities for teachers and pupils
- Teaching history with museums : strategies for K-12 social studies
- The historian's toolbox : a student's guide to the theory and craft of history
- History and imagination : reenactments for elementary social studies
- Teaching history to adolescents : a quest for relevance
- Social studies worksheets don't grow dendrites : 20 instructional strategies that engage the brain
- Breaking away from the textbook : creative ways to teach world history
- Practical strategies for teaching K-12 social studies in inclusive classrooms
Textbooks
Children's Books
Primary Resource Databases
Websites
"Teacher resources and teacher professional development programming across the curriculum"
"Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."
Links to resources maintained by Ben Stone.
"Free primary source materials for social studies teachers."
"The History-Social Science Course Models web site is designed to provide K-12 teachers with three things: 1. An easy way to implement the State of California's History/Social Science Standards in the classroom; 2. A means for California's teachers to share ideas, documents, lesson plans, student materials and personal experiences on topic related to history/social science; and 3. A means for teachers to collaborate and participate in the ongoing development of the site."
History-Social Science content area
"The California State Library, a California public research institution, provides its customers with the accurate, up-to-date information they need to do their jobs easily, quickly, and confidently."
"Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history."
"The Center for Civic Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational corporation dedicated to promoting an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy in the United States and other countries."
"Resources to build and develop character in youth; supports the core values of trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship."
"Character Education Partnership (CEP) is a national advocate and leader for the character education movement. Based in Washington, DC, we are a nonprofit, nonpartisan, nonsectarian coalition of organizations and individuals committed to fostering effective character education in our nation's schools."
"Children & Youth in History helps teachers and students learn about the important roles of young people throughout history by providing access to information about the lived experiences of children and youth."
"The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented."
"EASE History is a rich online environment that supports the learning and teaching of US History. Hundreds of historical videos and photographs are currently available in EASE History. Learn about US History through the prism of US presidential campaign ads, better understand the complexities of campaign issues and their historical context by looking at historical events, and explore the meanings of core values by examining how these values have been applied in both historical events and campaign ads. "
WWII Japanese American verterans including oral history
"a website focused on key topics in U.S. history, that is designed to teach students how to critically read primary sources and how to critique and construct historical narratives."
"Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history."
"The Library's new, personalized site, myLOC.gov, presents many of these items in compelling online exhibitions that reveal our nation's history, knowledge and creativity through primary sources, engaging activities and materials for teachers and students."
"The National Center for History in the Schools (NCHS) has a threefold mission: to develop and provide teachers with curricular materials that will engage students in exciting explorations of U.S. and World History; professional development for K-12 history teachers; and to collaborate with schools in building their history curricula."
"The National Council for Geographic Education is a non-profit organization, chartered in 1915 to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning. NCGE supports geography teaching at all levels—from kindergarten through university. Our members include both U.S. and International teachers, professors, students, businesses, and others who support geographic education."
"The National Council for History Education builds bridges between K-12 teachers, college and university faculty and museums/libraries/historical societies who all share a common passion for teaching history. Here you will find outstanding professional development opportunities, access to a wide range of historical organizations, thought-provoking annual conferences, free publications, and information on critical national and local educational issues. Most of all, you will be part of an international community linked together by a common commitment to excellence in history."
National History Education Clearinghouse is "the central online location for accessing high-quality resources in K-12 U.S. history education" launched by Professor Sam Wineburg and colleagues at George Mason University.
"Connections for students, teachers, and parents."
" Explore our new content collections for videos, games, and more, all designed to engage students in learning. "
"Project Look Sharp is a media literacy initiative of Ithaca College to provide materials, training and support for the effective integration of media literacy with critical thinking into classroom curricula at all education levels."
"Located on the fourth floor of King Library, the Educational Resource Center provides materials for students, educators, professors, parents, and all others interested in K-12 education in Silicon Valley."
Founded in 1846, the Smithsonian is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park and nine research facilities."
"The Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE) serves as a bridge between Stanford University and K-14 schools by developing multidisciplinary curriculum materials on international themes."
Teachers from the Library of Congress provides "more than 10 million primary sources online."
a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center "A place for educators to find thought-provoking news, conversation and support for those who care about diversity, equal opportunity and respect for differences in schools."
From the National Archives.
"A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity."
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to: * Promote international and intercultural understanding; * Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet; * Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences; * Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries.
"World History for Us All is a powerful, innovative model curriculum for teaching world history in middle and high schools."

