Death, dying and loss in books for children and young adults

This guide lists books for children and young adults in Cubberley Library that deal with death, dying, and loss.

Cover image of A stone for Sascha
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E2892 S76 2018
Ages 5-9; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS8619 .A6357 F86 2018 F
K-Gr.3
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .Y692 R63 2017
Lexile measure 630L; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
Cover image of All around us
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .O5626 A66 2017
Lexile measure AD680L; Ages 4-7; Pura Belpre illustrator honor, 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A3527 W42 2017
Lexile measure HL660L; Ages 14 an dup; Gr.8 and up
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PT8177.28 .I54 G7313 2016 F
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
Cover image of Always remember
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E48492 A49 2016
Lexile measure AD570L; Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.2
Newly illustrated edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3503 .R82184 D43 2016
ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2;  New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Books of the Year, 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .W385 B84 2015
Ages 5-9; K-Gr.4
Cover image of Summerlost : a novel
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O5326 S86 2016
Lexile measure 600; Ages 10 and up; Gr. 5 and up; Guided reading V
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A396 B63 2005
Lexile measure AD610L; Ages 4-7; Gr.K-2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .P5578 M39 2016
Lexile measure 750; Ages 11 to 13; Gr.4-6
Cover image of Untwine
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .A5815 U58 2015
Lexile measure 920; Ages 13 and up; Gr.8-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .E9753 B69 2015
Lexile measure HL760L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
Cover image of Can you see me now
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3602 .E7592 C36 2014
Lexile measure 700; Ages 9-14; Gr.5-8
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E79788 R46 2007
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4;  Ages 8-12; Gr.2-6
Cover image of My father's arms are a boat
1st American ed. New York : Enchanted Lion Books, 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PT8952.22 .U53 I413 2013
Ages 4-9
1st ed. Atlanta : Peachtree Publishers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .I577 Z39 2012
Lexile measure 490; Ages 6-9; Gr.Prk-2
Cover image of Before I die
1st American ed. New York : David Fickling Books, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6104 .O95 B43 2007
Lexile measure 580; Book level 3.8; Ages 13 and up; gr.7-12
1st pbk. ed. New York : Harper, 2011, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .L5863 B44 2011
Lexile measure 860; Book level 5.4; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-10
New York : HarperCollins, c1977.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A779 B75 1977
Newbery medal winner; Lexile measure 810; grades 3-6; realistic fiction; guided reading level T
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .O63 D43 2013
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
Cover image of Each little bird that sings
1st ed. Orlando, Fla. : Gulliver Books/Harcourt, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I543 E13 2005
Lexile measure 760; Book level 4.5; Ages 8-12; gr.4-6; Guided reading S
1st Owlet paperback ed. New York : Henry Holt, 1988, c1983.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .L45 E854 1988
Book level 2.5; Ages 3-7; Gr.k-2; Guided reading L
1st Harper Tempest ed. New York, NY : HarperTempest, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .Y416 F74 2002
Lexile measure 500; Book level 3.8; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
New York : Philomel Books, c1994.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3575 .O43 G73 1994
Lexile measure 480; Ages 5-7; Gr.K-2; Guided reading M
Cover image of A greyhound of a girl
New York : Amulet Books, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6054 .O95 G74 2012
Lexile measure 500; Ages 11 and up; Gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .R3564 H53 2001 F
Lexile measure 700; Book level 4.3; Age 4-8 yrs; Gr.k-2; Guided reading O
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .A3615 K57 2004
Lexile measure 740; Book level 4.7; Gr.6-10; Ages 10-15 Guided reading X
1st ed. New York : Joanna Cotler Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .U98 L43 2008
Lexile measure 960; Book level 5.4; Ages 8-14; Gr.4-6
Cover image of A monster calls
1st U.S. ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .E498 M65 2011
Lexile measure 730; Ages 11-14; gr.6-9
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E11474 N36 1998
Lexile measure 530; Book level 3.4; Ages 3-7; Guided reading L
1st Ember ed. [New York] : Ember, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .U2325 P37 2012
Lexile measure 920; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
1st U.S. ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6051 .L588 S28 2008
Lexile measure 730; Book level 4.6; Ages 10-14; gr.5-8
Cover image of The two of them
New York : Greenwillow Books, c1979.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L3636 T96 1979
Book level 3.8
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R4886 W44 2005
Lexile measure 730; Book level 4.8; Ages 13 and up; Gr.7-12
New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .H357 W48 2011
Lexile measure 960; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12; Mystery and suspense
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking