You are here

Debating the Environment

PWR 1CS - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Shekhar, C.
Last Updated: 11-Oct-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 1CS: Debating the Environment. This course considers controversial environment-related technologies or concepts. What are the pros and cons? What are the uncertainties and risks associated with it? What are its alternatives? How does the science inform these perspectives? What rhetorical strategies do they use?

Subject Librarians

Earth Sciences Librarian
(650) 724-6242
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Getting Started

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Try these Links to Searchworks searches, then use the limiters to see more topics choices. Select one catalog record to see the call number - which indicates the subject area, and links to more specific keyword and subject terms you can use in further searches.

The following are some reference sources that you can use to find background information on your topic as well as other references.

[New York] : McGraw-Hill, 2000.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (no call number)
An online collection of articles, bibliographies, study guides, dictionaries, etc. serving as a searchable encyclopedia of science and technology.
Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson Gale, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online eBook reference collection on many topics including the Environment. You can direct link to environmental topics.
San Diego : Greenhaven Press, c2003.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HD75.6 .G555 2003

Opinion Sources & Blogs

Databases

Key Databases

Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas. The following are some databases that focus on environmental topics.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers environmental sciences topics, including ecology, energy resources, and pollution issues. Coverage: 1967 - present
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Coverage: 1785 - present
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Writing Help

A list of resources to assist with writing and publishing for Earth Sciences.

2nd, comp. rev. ed. Weinheim ; Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD9.15 .E23 2004

PRINT ONLY. Coming to the aid of all those wishing to improve the quality of their scientific writing -- established researchers and aspiring students alike -- three experienced authors/scientists from differing backgrounds and cultures have compiled this classic guide.

Boston : Pearson, c2012.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Request at circulation desk » QE48.85 .C67 2012

PRINT ONLY. Instruction concerning the rules and styles of writing and speaking are addressed in relation to technical concerns specific to the Earth sciences, illustrating the importance of effective communication in geologic investigations. The book includes guidance on how to write an effective research paper, and the creation of PowerPoints, posters, a thesis, funding proposals, and more is covered in detail.

5th ed. Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1995.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .G46 1995

PRINT ONLY. This introduction to writing, editing, and printing will help students and scientists cope with a process that many dread - the process that starts with a decision to write something for publication.

New York : Springer, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » T11 .B543 2011

ONLINE. This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals.

Manage your references

As you're collecting references for your assignments, you might want to try using a reference manager, like RefWorks.  RefWorks not only tracks your papers, it helps you write your bibliography.

citation help