You are here

Developmental Psychology

Last Updated: 17-Nov-2015

"Developmental psychology investigates how the human mind develops throughout the lifespan. Observations and experiments with infants, children, teenagers and adults enable us to identify meaningful changes and the origins of mental processes, providing us with insight into the experience of various age groups as well as into the differences between individuals." (SU Dept. of Psychology)

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Overviews

Recently received

Cover image of The Oxford handbook of developmental psychology
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF713 .O9294 2013 V.1
Second edition, paperback edition.
Green Library » Stacks » BF713 .B565 2014
2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
Select the Table of Contents to see the chapters available electronically.
New York : Guilford Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » BF713 .H3643 2012

Other books

Baltimore, Md. : Paul H. Brookes, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » HV1570 .C66 2007
"This comprehensive volume addresses developmental disabilities and intellectual disabilities across the lifespan."
[New York] : Springer, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[1st ed.] [S.l.] : ScienceDirect, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2006.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » HM626 .E53 2006 V.1
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
"This comprehensive and exhaustive reference work on the subject of education from the primary grades through higher education combines educational theory with practice…"
3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » BF724 .H33 2009 V.1
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
"This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale."
2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » BF723 .C5 B5 2011

Databases

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Related Databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993
New York, N.Y. : Ovid Technologies [distributor, 19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A database designed to help identify measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science; provides sources, abstract, and reviewer(s) when applicable.
New Brunswick : Rutgers University Press, c1938-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » Z5814.P8 M4
"Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks."

Websites

Journals

Leicester, Uk : British Psychology Society, 1983-
Green Library » Stacks » BF712 .B7 V.28 2010
[Chicago, etc.] Published by the University of Chicago Press for the Society for Research in Child Development [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .C5341 V.86:NO.6 2015:NOV./DEC
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Hillsdale, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c1985-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF712.5 .D48 V.36 2011:JUL.-DEC
[Washington] American Psychological Association.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF701 .D4 BASE
New York : Academic Press, c1981-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .D4 V.29:NO.1 2009
Oxford, UK; Malden, MA, USA : Blackwell, c1998-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF712 .D48
Basel, New York, Karger.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP84 .H75 V.56 2013
Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2000-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF719 .I525
Washington, V. H. Winston & Sons.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF721 .J63 V.36 2008:OCT.-NOV
Norwood, N.J., Ablex Pub. Corp.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF712 .J6 V.29 2008
London, New York, Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » RJ499 .A1 J6 V.50 2009:JUL.-DEC
Mahwah, NJ : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2000-
Green Library » Current periodicals
San Diego [i.e. New York, N.Y.] : Academic Press, c1985-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF455 .A1 J6 V.59 2008:JUL.-NOV