You are here

Display Cases and Databases: The Rhetoric of Collection

PWR 1GAD - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Droge, Abigail
Last Updated: 5-Jan-2014

A research guide, based upon the course description, PWR 1GAD:  Display Cases and Databases: The Rhetoric of Collection.This research guide broadly covers the research process from researching refernce materials for broad subject reading to database searching for articles.

Background/Reference Sources

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching."
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"General and Reference Works; Music; Biology; Art, Architecture and Design; Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press."
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
Berlin, Germany ; New York : Springer, 1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics."

Subject Search Terms

Listed below are Library of Congress subject terms, which search only the subject field(s) of the Searchworks catalogue.

  1. Neil J. Salkind, University of Kansas. 2015

  2. Carol A. Silvis. 2015

  3. Kathryn Herr (Montclair State University), Gary L. Anderson (New York University). 2015

  4. edited by Carlos R. Cabrera, Félix A. Miranda. 2015

  5. Feng Wu.. 2015

Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. It also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A collection of research databases in various fields. Search screen allows the user to search several simultaneously"
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Content:"Core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+)."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » NONEAQD4378
"Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics"

Proquest Social Science Databases

"Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."