You are here

'Don't Stand so Close to Me' : Cross-cultural Communication

PWR 2GAW - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Watters, A.
Last Updated: 16-Apr-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 2GAW: 'Don't Stand so Close to Me' : Cross-cultural Communication. Topic include: cross-cultural communication, both verbal and nonverbal, across cultures. We'll consider not only language and argument but also proxemics—culturally determined spatial distance between people--as well as eye contact and gestures. We'll also explore generalizations vs. stereotypes.

Subject Librarians

Malgorzata Schaefer
Head, Information Delivery
(650) 384-5028
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources for Intercultural Communication

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2002.
Green Library » Stacks » P94.6 .K56 2002
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » P94.6 .N53 2012
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P29 .F47 1998
5th ed. Boston : McGraw-Hill Higher Education, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » HM1211 .M373 2010
New York : Routledge, c2007.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » JZ1318 .E63 2007 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » HM1211 .S24 2009

Suggested Databases

Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here, try these databases for Articles about Intercultural Communication.

Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, c2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, [2004]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004

Citations and bibliographic management

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.