You are here

Eadweard Muybridge

Primary tabs

Works by and resources about photographer Eadweard Muybridge in the Department of Special Collections and University Archives. Muybridge conducted the earliest of his photographic studies of animal motion at Leland Stanford's Palo Alto Stock Farm.

Works by Muybridge

Archives and Manuscript Collections with Information on Muybridge

Reference Works, Reprint Editions, and Exhibit Catalogs

London : Reaktion Books, 2010.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » TR849 .M87 B73 2010
London : Tate Pub. ; Göttingen : Steidl, 2010.
Special Collections » University Archives reference (non-circulating) » TR849 .M87 B77 2010

Catalog of an exhibition held at the Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, 10 April-18 July 2010; Tate Britain, London, 8 Sept. 2010-16 Jan. 2011; and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 26 Feb.-7 June 2011.

Berkeley : University of California Press, c1986.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » F1464 .B94 1986

Photographs by Eadweard J. Muybridge; text by E. Bradford Burns. Photographs are reprinted from The Pacific Coast of Central America and Mexico; the Isthmus of Panama; Guatemala; and the Cultivation and Shipment of Coffee; Illustrated by Muybridge (1876).

Washington, D.C. : Joseph Henry Press, c2007.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TR849 .M84 C64 2007
[Hastings] : Projection Box, c2004.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TR849 .M87 E23 2004 F
Berkeley : University of California Press, c1976.
Special Collections » Reference (non-circulating) » TR849 .M87 H3
Montréal : Canadian Centre for Architecture = Centre canadien d'architecture, 1993.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » TR647 .M89 1993 F

Catalog of an exhibition held at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montréal from in 1993. The exhibit was later circulated to the Friends of Photography, Ansel Adams Center, in San Francisco; and to the Musée Carnavalet, Paris.

New York, Grossman [1975]
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TR849.M87.H46
[1st ed.] Boston, Little, Brown [1972]
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » TR849.M87 M3
San Francisco, T. C. Russell [19--?]
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » F869 .S3 M8
[San Francisco] : History Department, Wells Fargo Bank, c1979.
Special Collections » University Archives: request at Special Collections service desk » F869 .S3 M83 1979

Discusses the 75-foot enlargement of Muybridge's panoramic view of San Francisco, produced for the Wells Fargo Bank Penthouse from original photographic plates owned by Stanford University.

[Stanford, Calif.] : Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts at Stanford University ; New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Special Collections » University Archives: request at Special Collections service desk » TR849 .M87 P76 2003

Catalog of an exhibition at the Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts.

New York : Viking, 2003.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TR849 .M87 S55 2003
[Stanford, Calif., 1972]
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » TR849 .M87 S7

Catalog of an exhibition held at the Stanford University Museum of Art, Oct. 7-Dec. 4, 1972; the E.B. Crocker Art Gallery, Sacramento, Dec. 16, 1972-Jan. 14, 1973; and the University Galleries, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, Feb. 8-Mar. 11, 1973.