You are here

Early childhood education

Last Updated: 12-Sep-2014

This guide is for those interested in early childhood education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Cover image of Sage handbook of play and learning in early childhood
Los Angeles : Sage Reference, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140.35 .P55 S24 2014
3rd ed. New York : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1119 .H25 2013
New York : Guilford Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.25 .H343 2012
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1139.23 .E272 2007 V.1
"a compilation of understandings, controversies, theories, policies, and practices in early childhood education as currently found in the United States and 10 other nations around the world." Vols. 1-3 contain an A to Z listing of articles with suggested readings, while vol. 4 covers other countries.
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
[1st ed.] [S.l.] : ScienceDirect, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Intended for university and public libraries, the Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development is the major reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology."
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.23 .R48 2013
2nd ed. Los Angeles : Sage, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139 .L3 S344 2013

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1047 .C728 2014
Practice-oriented.
Newcastle upon Tyne : Cambridge Scholars Pub., 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.225 .C65 2014
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .C55 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.23 .B745 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1047 .P53 2014 F
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1137 .F54 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
1st pbk. ed. Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC89 .K365 2014
New edition /
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1195 .P18 2014
10th anniversary edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.5 .L35 V37 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
2nd ed. New York : Teachers College Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.4 .B47 2009
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.23 .D84 2014 F
Practice-oriented.
[Paris, France] : OECD, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140.2 .S773 2012
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.23 .I58 2014
2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » GV424.5 .W45 2014

Journals

Greenwich, Conn., JAI Press.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140 .A1 A3 V.17 2013
Published annually, each volume brings together the current scholarship on an aspect of early childhood education.
[Wheaton, MD, etc., Association for Childhood Education International]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Brandon, VT : Psychology Press, c1989-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1101 .E27 V.182007
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier Science.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Wheaton, Md. : Association for Childhood Education International, c1986-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Websites