You are here

Earthquake resources for civil engineers

Last Updated: 30-Jul-2014

A listing of selected online and print resources for research on earthquakes.  It has been developed for Civil Engineers, but may be of interest to students in Earth Systems disciplines as well.

Subject Librarians

Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

Books and journals on earthquakes

New books and e-books on earthquakes

This feed is generated by the SearchWorks online catalog. It automatically updates as new titles are added.

  1. Sebastiano Foti, Carlo G. Lai, Glenn J. Rix, and Claudio Strobbia. 2015

  2. Sebastiano Foti, Carlo G. Lai, Glenn J. Rix, Claudio Strobbia. 2015

  3. Lynne Schleiffarth Burks. 2014

  4. Yi Yang. 2014

Selected journal titles

[Dordrecht : Kluwer]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA654.6 .B85 V.6 2008
Chichester [etc.] New York, J. Wiley.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Serials
Beijing : Ke xue chu ban she, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Chichester, UK : John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Databases and online subscription resources

In addition to these resources, Stanford also has access to the <em> Institution of Civil Engineers Virtual Library</em>.  The papers from all the ICE Proceedings,  Selected Engineering Papers, Transactions of the ICE and Journal of the ICE are covered from 1836 to the present. Also contains selected e-books. All the items are cataloged in SearchWorks.

New York, N.Y. : American National Standards Institute
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Stanford users can access American Society of Civil Engineers Standards via the TechStreet platform. Please note, you must have the File Open plugin for Acrobat, to view the full-text files.
Reston, VA : ASCE Publications, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides journal papers from 1983-present for all 32 Journals, and proceedings papers from 2001-present for more than 257 conference proceedings. A mobile version is available.
[California] : National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers topics in structural dynamics, seismology, geology, architecture, political science, economics, planning, public policy, and hazards mitigation as they relate to earthquake studies. Coverage 1971 to present.
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
GeoRef indexes and abstracts the worldwide literature on geology, including information on energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics. Includes more than 25,145 publications.
Springfield, Va. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Technical Information Service,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexing and access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
Buffalo, N.Y. : National Center for Earthquake Engineering Research, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers Earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazards mitigation, and related topics. An attempt is made to exclude the items already listed in NTRL, Engineering Index/Compendex, and GeoRef.

Internet resources for earthquake information