You are here

Eating-Animals: The Rhetoric of Animals, Food, and the Environment

PWR 1VS - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Stanescu, V.
Last Updated: 15-Apr-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 1VS: Eating-Animals: The Rhetoric of Animals, Food, and the Environment. Course topics include: what are the similar rhetorical strategies that both sides of the debate engage in, and secondly, what do our rhetorical strategies around eating animals, and particularly their relation to the environment, tell us about ourselves as a society?

Subject Librarians

Reference and Instruction Librarian, Coordinator of Newspaper Collection
(650) 725-6243
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/reference sources: Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research-based argument

 

 

2nd ed. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood Press, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HV4708 .E53 2010 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » TX392 .C85 2010
Earlier edition ONLINE.
Farmington Hills, MI : Macmillan Reference USA/Gale Cengage Learning, c2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » GE42 .E533 2009 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HD9005 .E645 2010
ALSO ONLINE.
[5th ed.] Los Angles : Pine Forge Press, c2008.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » HM706 .R58 2008

Selected subject terms:

For books and databases

Limit results by TOPIC, also try adding these terms to initial search: environmental aspects, health aspects, moral and ethical aspects

Selected books:

1st ed. New York : W. W. Norton & Co., c2009.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TX371 .M37 2009
Summertown, Tenn. : Book Pub. Co., c1996.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » SF487 .D27 1996
London ; New York : Earthscan, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » HD9000.5 .C258 2011
1st ed. New York, NY : Collins Living, c2009.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TD930.2 .N56 2009

Selected databases:

  • Academic Search Premier– “choose databases” to add: Agricola (agriculture), Alternative Press Index, Business Source Complete, Environment Index, GreenFile, Left Index
  • ISI Web of Knowledge – many science databases, including CABI: CAB Abstracts® and Global Health® (1910-present; agriculture +), also some social sciences
  • ProQuest Research Library - good general database, with options to add others

Selected websites:

 

Other resources from previous PWR classes:

Food and politics resources

Food resources – includes explanations/examples of call numbers: GT/HD/HV