You are here

Education and psychology

Last Updated: 26-Sep-2014

This is a guide for those interested in the application of psychology to education, both research and practice, including cognition, learning science, motivation, and behavior modification.

Background information

Recently received

Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1060 .F453 2014
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
Select the Table of Contents to see the chapters available electronically.

Other books

Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1060 .C35 2006
New York : Peter Lang, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1060 .E56 2010
"a collage of educational psychology's specializations and research-based reflections."
New York ; London : Springer, c2008, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1050.9 .E63 2008 V.1
"Through more than 275 contributions, experts provide overviews and explanations of the major topics in the field of educational psychology."
New York : Guilford Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .H335 2011
"The Handbook summarizes the history of ABA and explains its conceptual and empirical building blocks. Approaches to defining and measuring behavior are discussed, including ways to optimize single-case experimental designs. Tools for behavioral assessment are thoroughly reviewed. Contributors then showcase evidence-based strategies for supporting positive behaviors and reducing problem behaviors."
6th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » BF721 .H242 2006 V.1
2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching."
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2012, ©2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1051 .H2355 2012
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1027.55 .H357 2007
Provides "a description of the specialty of psychology devoted to the provision of services to children and youth, their teachers, and parents." Section I contains chapters on individual countries, while Section II has synthesis chapters.
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1067 .H28 2009
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .H285 2009
New York ; London : Springer, 2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.55 .H363 2014
New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1507 .H255 2010
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC32 .H36 2011
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.55 .M847 2007
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .P635 2007 V.1
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1060 .P683 2006 V.1
"Classroom teachers will find this book helpful because it not only validates much of their teaching through research-based instructional strategies, but also adds to their stockpile of strategies. (p.xx)"
4th ed. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, Inc., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1051 .H2356 2009
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4801 .R68 2013
London ; New York : Routledge, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1060 .R686 2012
"The Handbook presents a comprehensive overview of the contemporary research into learning: it brings together a diverse range of specialties, with chapters written by leading scholars from throughout the world and from a broad spectrum of approaches."

New books

Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .C55 2014
2nd edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1073 .R64 2014 F
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.23 .B745 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1137 .F54 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1590.3 .H46 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » RC451.4 .S7 I27 2014
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4091 .D65 2014
Practice-oriented.

Journals

New York, Academic Press, 1963-
Green Library » Stacks » BF721 .A45 V.1 1963
Each annual volume covers a different theme providing "a unique perspective on a question of major interest and significance to developmental and cognitive psychologists, developmental and cognitive scientists, and developmental cognitive neuroscientists, as well as to clinicians who work with children from the special populations on whom much of the research is focused."
[Washington] American Psychological Association.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF701 .D4 BASE
Champaign, IL : ERIC Clearinghouse on Elementary and Early Childhood Education, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Norwood, NJ : Ablex Pub. Corp., c1986-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Baltimore, Md., Warwick & York, Inc. [1910-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Rockville, Md. : Aspen Systems Corp., c1981-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC4019.2 .T66 V.27 2007

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Beaumont, Tex. : Cabell Pub. Co., c2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z286 .E3 C325 ED.8:V.2 2007/2008
For each journal listed Cabell's includes publishing information such as Content, Review Process, Publication Information, Manuscript Specifications, and Guidelines.

Websites