Education in the Middle East | Stanford Libraries

Education in the Middle East

This is a guide to resources for those interested in education in the Middle East and Northern Africa (MENA)--the Arabic world but also Israel.

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1491 .E374 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC911 .M8 H35 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC94 .I73 S53 2016

Journals

Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Publishes research papers by new and established scholars who want to add depth of understanding about the culture, heritage and intricacies of the Middle East; Practice-based studies or observations; Reviews of books and other scholarly works in print, multimedia and on the web; Timely publication of research on Middle Eastern issues from a variety of perspectives and discipline areas."

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Bethesda, MD : CSA, 2003-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world." "Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level."
[Cleveland Heights, etc., Index to Jewish Periodicals, etc.]
Green Library » Information Center » Z6367 .I5 V.23-25 1985-1987
"Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988."
Norwood, MA : SilverPlatter Information,
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking