Elections and Politics Background and Reference Sources
Elections and Politics Databases Ejournals and Websites
Suggested Databases and E-journals for “Politics and/or Elections” topics:
- PAIS International:Scholarly articles on international public policy and politics
- Communication and Mass Media Complete: From EBSCO Host, you can search together with Academic Search Premier by selecting an additional Database. This database is great for articles on the rhetoric of candidates and the impact of media on public perception of canditates
- Political Science
- Newsbank News File and Access World News: Great source for news from newspapers, television, radio, and websites, going back to the 1980s to current news
- Polling Databases:
- Polling the Nations: A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method.
- IPoll Databank: comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.
- America History and Life: for any historical topic - good for getting historical perspective on a political person or issue, or any historic event.
- Historical Abstracts: same as above but provides perspective outside the Americas
- Film and Television Literature: For articles on coverage of Elections and Campaigns on televisions and in films: many are articles from Variety and Hollywood Reporter (you will find fulltext by using the "Find it at Stanford" link), but you can limit to Academic Resources, and find scholarly articles from journals like Popular Communication; Television and News Media; Journal of Popular Film & Television; Political Communication; Gender Studies; Media Psychology; Film International, and more
For presidential speeches, check these news databases (available to Stanford users):
- Vanderbilt University Television Archives
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- National Journal
- Facts on File News Service Note the links for 2012 Election Guide and Presidential Election Highlights.
- Lexis Nexis (has transcripts of radio and television programs)
Political Journals and Magazines
- Presidential Studies Quarterly
- The Nation: a searchable archive of all issues from the first in 1865 to today
Politics and Election websites:
This website was created "to help voters separate fact from falsehood
in the 2008 presidential campaign." Now up-to-date to the 2016 election. Journalists and researchers from the [St. Petersburg] Times and CQ [Congressional Quarterly] will fact-check the accuracy of speeches, TV ads, interviews and other campaign communications." Searchable; or browse the site's "Truth-O-Meter" by candidate, subject, political party, and other factors. Includes related articles and in-depth features.
- Voter Turnout:
Collection of research and commentary on voter turnout and election results. Topics include evangelical voters, the youth vote, the myth of a toss-up election, how and when experience in a president counts, and voter mobilization. From the Brookings Institution.
- Brookings Institute 2016 Election: Research Behind the Race
- FiveThirtyEight.com -compiles and presents up-to-the minute changes in an aggregate of polls and news/editorial reports
- MSNBC Politics
- Commission on Presidential Debates: historic debate transcripts - including the Kennedy Nixon debates of 1960
- The Kennedy-Nixon Presidential Debates, 1960, from the Internet Archive
- History of Televised Presidential Debates (1960-2000)
- American Rhetoric: Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.