You are here

Electronic resources for Chinese studies

Last Updated: 10-Jun-2014

Subject Librarians

Chinese studies librarian
(650) 388-8295

Subjects

Stanford-Only Databases

 

CNKI: China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据
China Academic Journals (CAJ) is a full-text database covering approximately 6,600 journal titles from the People's Republic of China. [Internet Explorer recommended]

CNKI: China Doctoral Dissertations 中国博士学位论文
A full-text database collects dissertations from 404 doctor degree grantors, covering all subject areas, including sciences, technology, social sciences and humanities.

CNKI: China Master Theses 中国优秀硕士学位论文
A full-text database collects master theses, covering all subject areas.

CNKI: China Proceedings of Conferences 中国重要会议论文
A full-text Database collects proceedings of domestic and international conferences sponsored by societies, associations, universities and institutions, and governments of the first and second levels in China.

CNKI: China Reference Works Online 中国工具书网络出版总库
Including more than 4000 reference works.

CNKI: China Yearbooks 中国年鉴数据库

CNKI: China Statistical Yearbooks 中国统计年鉴数据库

China Cultural Revolution Database 中国文化大革命史料库
(2006, Second Edition). Collection of over 10,000 original documents published from 1967 through 1977.

China Data Online 中国数据在线
Contains China yearly macro-economy statistics (1949-), China monthly macro-economy statistics (1998-), monthly reports on economic development (2002-), China city statistics (1996-), China county statistics (1997-), China industrial data (2001-), and various statistical yearbooks (2002-).

China Geo-Explorer II
China Geo-Explorer is an intelligence spatial data service. It offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based delivery system. With this spatial intelligence, users are able to make rapid, accurate spatial decisions with greater confidence for regional planning, business investment, population, housing, environmental assessment, public health and many other spatial applications. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographies, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, this resource provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Chinamaxx
Full-text database of hundreds of thousands of books published in China since 1949 concentrating on social sciences and humanities.

Chinese Ancient Texts Database (CHANT) 漢達文庫
Database of Jiaguwen, Jianbo, Jinwen, Pre-Han and Han, Six Dynasties and Lei Shu.

Chinese Civilization in Time and Space
Web-based GIS system with historical maps, integrated with full-text databases from the Academia Sinica. The fundamental base maps are based on Dr. Tan's "The Historical Atlas of China". "The Historical Atlas of China" provides users with Chinese historical features, covering Chinese history over the past 2000 years, from the ancient time to Qing dynasty. Click on "Enter CCTS System" to access the database. Users must download ArcView 9.1, the latest Java Runtime Environment, and CCTS plug-ins before use.

Ch'ing Palace Memorials and Archives of the Grand Council 清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件
Full-image database of documents collected by the National Palace Museum. These documents span the reigns from Kangxi to Xuantong, covering a wide range of subjects, including state, foreign and military affairs, finance, agriculture, and industry.
Note: Please contact the East Asia Library for username/password information.

Da Cheng Lao Jiu Kan 大成老旧刊全文数据库
includes 1.3 million articles from 120,000 issues of 6,000 journals which were published from late Qing Dynasty to 1949.

Duxiu 读秀知识库
Duxiu provides full-text access to over 2 million core Chinese monographs and journals, as well as over 500 yearbooks published in mainland China. Duxiu can also be accessed via Stanford’s Chinamaxx interface (search form is located at the lower portion of the Chinamaxx homepage).

Foreign Office files for China [1919-1980]
Complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan during these decades.

Grand Secretariat Archives 内閣大庫檔案
The Grand Secretariat Archives features documents originally collected by the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty. The database allows keyword searching for responsible official, title, matter and document number. It includes full-text images of 310,000 documents dated from the Ming dynasty to the late Qing dynasty.
Note: Please contact the East Asia Library for username/password information. This resource is only available on campus and cannot be accessed from off campus via proxy. Internet Explorer recommended.

History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements 中國當代政治運動史數據庫
Primary sources related to the Cultural Revolution, Anti-Rightists Campaign, Great Leap forward and Great Famine.

Guangming Ribao 光明日报
Launched on June 16, 1949 by the China Democratic League, originally represented the eight minority “democratic” parties in China. In 1957, the newspaper reported widely on the various forums critical of the Communist Party which followed Mao Zedong’s call to “let one hundred flowers bloom”. As a result, the paper was severely criticized in the Anti-Rightist Movement (1958) that followed. The paper then joined the mainstream of party publications. Today, Guangming ribao is an influential daily, specifically in the fields of science and technology, education and culture, with readership amongst state agencies, universities and schools, the armed forces and in intellectual circles.

Han dian quanwen jiansuo xitong 瀚典全文檢索系統
Publicly available Chinese classics (二十五史,十三經 ...) from Academia Sinica. Click on "瀚典全文檢索系統 2.0 版" to access content.

LawinChina 北大法宝
Publishes Chinese statutes, regulations, cases, government policies, legal news, treaties, law review articles, and law links.

National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引
The National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals (NICNP) is an index database covering information from 1833 to the present. It lists about 18,000 kinds of newspapers and periodicals published in China and contains over 30 million entries.
Note: Although it appears you can request documents directly from Shanghai Library, requests must go through Stanford Libraries Interlibrary Loan Unit citing the NICNP as the source for the document.

NICNP: Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库(1911~1949)
This database contains about 20,000 titles of Chinese periodicals published in the period 1911 to 1949. To access this resource, click on Chinese periodical full text database (1911-1949), select【全文库】 民国时期期刊全文数据库(1911~1949) , then click 使用 under the database image.

People's Daily (1946-) 人民日报
Full text of the People's Daily from 1946-2011.

People's Liberation Army (PLA) Daily 解放军报
People’s Liberation Army (PLA) Daily is the official newspaper of the military of the People’s Republic of China. The publication was established on January 1, 1956 and acts as the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army to release military news and comprehensive military-related information.

ProQuest historical newspapers. Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
Full text of various Chinese newspapers in English.

ProQuest historical newspapers. South China Morning Post (1903-1995) 南华早报英文版
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Qing dai shi liao wen xian 清代史料文献
Full text searchable database including historical text on Qing history. Special font file is required.

Scripta Sinica 中央研究院 漢籍全文資料庫
The updated (460 titles and 358,000,000 characters) full-text database of pre-modern Chinese materials from Academia Sinica.

Shen Bao 申報
An important primary source for late imperial and modern China, Shen Bao underwent three reigns of Qing Dynasty, and witnessed many significant historical events, such as Sino-French War, Sino-Japanese War, Boxer Rebellion, and two World Wars. Known for its rich news reporting, commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era. This online database makes available searchable full texts and digital images in pdf-format.
[Note: search requires traditional Chinese character input.]

Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊
A collectaneum compiled by the Republican period (1911-1949) scholar Zhang Yuanji 張元濟 (1867-1959). It includes 504 texts arranged in three series. Special font file should be downloaded for proper display of Chinese characters.

Si ku quan shu (Wenyuange Ed.) 文淵閣四庫全書(電子版)
This new version of SKQS requires the download of a client and can be used anywhere on the Stanford campus via authenticated wired or wireless connection. The client download and installation guides are available at http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/ (requires a Microsoft Windows operating system and Internet Explorer).
This online version of the Wenyuange Edition expands the full-text retrieval and full-image browsing along with thousands of Chinese characters added to the Unicode Standard and many thousand more digitized characters. Users will benefit from correlated search functions that recognize Traditional-Simplified and Chinese-Japanese character sets.
Note: To access this resource from off campus, please contact the East Asia Library for username/password information.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Service (TEPS) 臺灣電子期刊服務網
TEPS covers 81,000 articles published in leading Taiwanese academic journals. Spanning subject areas including medicine and life sciences, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and applied sciences, TEPS is updated daily with new academic journal content and includes archived issues dating to 1991.

Taiwan Master Theses and Ph.D Dissertations 台湾硕博士论文
Collects master theses and Ph.D dissertations from 49 institutions on all subject areas.

Wanfang Data: China Online Journals 万方数据:学术期刊 (人文社科)
The database features core journals in the fields and a unique broad collection of Chinese university journals, which is a main research source in humanities and social sciences in China from 1998 onwards. 

Wanfang Data: Dissertations of China 万方数据: 学位论文 (人文社科)
includes Master's theses, Doctoral and Post-Doctoral dissertations from Chinese research institutions from 1980 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request.

Wanfang Data: China Local Gazetteers 万方数据: 新方志
contains over 25,900 volumes of Chinese gazetteer books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions. The database provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units.

Wanfang Data: Academic conferences in China 万方数据: 学术会议
contains full-text, abstract and other descriptive information of papers from national and international conferences held in China from 1986 onward.

Wanfang Data: Policies and laws of China 万方数据: 法律法規
Being the most comprehensive database of this kind in China, "Policies and Laws of China (PLOC)" provides valuable information on Chinese jurisdiction, legislature, and business laws. The database holds over 583,000 records covering a comprehensive range of Chinese policies, regulations and laws of both national and regional levels from 1949 onward.

Yan xing lu 燕行錄
Contains 556 personal records by the identified authors about 314 Korean envoys and delegation that visited Beijing during Goryeo and Joseon Dynasty (from 13th to 19th century). Text in Chinese but the database interface in Korean language.

Zhongguo fang zhi ku 中國方誌庫
Currently include about 2000 pre-modern local gazetteers (when finished, will include more than 10,000). Full text searchable.

Zhongguo ji ben gu ji ku 中國基本古籍庫
includes more than 10,000 full-text traditional Chinese works. Original images also available. Full text searchable.

Zhongguo li dai shi ke shi liao hui bian 中國歷代石刻史料匯編 Collection of Chinese stone rubbings throughout the Dynasties)
A database of over 1000 epigraphic texts (including the epigraphy sections in local gazetteers) with full-text searching.

Web Full Text Resources

Historical texts

大学数字图书馆国际合作计划 China Academic Digital Associative Library (百万图书计划)includes millions of Chinese books and many of them are free to the public.

中国国家图书馆数字方志 includes more than 6000 kinds of local gazetteers published before 1949.

国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库 Free access full text current journal articles. Need to set up an account first.

中国国家图书馆民国期刊 provides images of more than 4,500 Minguo serials.

瀚典全文檢索系統 台灣中央研究院 publicly available Chinese classics (二十五史,十三經 ...) from Academia Sinica. Click on "瀚典全文檢索系統 2.0 版" to access content.

東京大學東洋文化研究所藏漢籍善本全文影像資料庫 includes more than 4000 Chinese rare books free to the public.

中華文學集錦 University of Virginia Library Chinese Text Initiative

明清婦女著作 Ming Qing Women's Writings

中國佛教寺廟志數位典藏 includes more than 200 temple gazetteers.

Harvard-Yenching Library Bao Juan 寶卷 Collection 86 titles of Bao Juan寶卷in Harvard-Yenching library rare collections are being digitized. Among them, 74 titles are from the Hanan collection, 7 titles are in Ming dynasty. Click on the link above to search HOLLIS for the list of items.

Ling long Women's Magazine 玲瓏

中國哲學書電子化計劃 Chinese Text Project

HathiTrust Digital Library includes thousands of Chinese books that are in the public domain.

Special documents

京都大学中国清代民国公私文书 includes images of about 300 official or private documents.

Open access theses and dissertations