You are here

Elementary education

Last Updated: 3-Oct-2014

This guide is for those interested in the research and practice of elementary education.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » P118 .C36 2009
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1139.23 .E272 2007 V.1
"a compilation of understandings, controversies, theories, policies, and practices in early childhood education as currently found in the United States and 10 other nations around the world." Vols. 1-3 contain an A to Z listing of articles with suggested readings, while vol. 4 covers other countries.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1555 .H297 2005
"The purpose of this book is to present elementary education within a holistic framework that allows readers to become familiar with the history of elementary education and its evolution to its current status." (p. xv)
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1556.7 .G7 H39 2010
6th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » BF721 .H242 2006 V.1
2nd ed. Los Angeles : Sage, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139 .L3 S344 2013
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1

New books

Third edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.42 .D84 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .L255 2013 T
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1575 .W554 2014
Practice-oriented.
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1530 .C66 2014
Practice-oriented.
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .C55 2014
Rotterdam ; Boston : Sense Publishers, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .R58 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » GV424.5 .W45 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140.5 .S35 J66 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA137 .S64 2014
Practice-oriented.

Journals

Brandon, VT : Psychology Press, c1989-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1101 .E27 V.182007
[Chicago, Ill. : University of Chicago Press], 1914-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier Science.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Official Journal of the National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators
Wheaton, Md. : Association for Childhood Education International, c1986-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Washington, D.C. : National Association for the Education of Young Children, c2002-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Curriculum resources

California ed. Hudson, NH : Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL51 .A55 2007 F
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK476 .T74 2007 F
[Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TS1465 .F33 2003 F
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TS835 .W66 2007 F
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QM30 .I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH319 .A1 I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.5 .I57 2006
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP435 .I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC133 .I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC920 .I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC530 .I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL821 .I575 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB521 .I57 2007
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QD47 .I57 2003
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GE70 .I57 2003
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] :: Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q181 .S377 2007

Websites