You are here

English and language arts education

Last Updated: 26-Sep-2014

This guide is for those interested in the teaching of English and language arts, both research and practice.

Background information

New York : Guilford Press, c2002-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.5 .L35 H37 2001
"Consistent with prior volumes, we retain our focus on the years from birth to the beginning of formal literacy instruction and include chapters that focus primarily on theoretical issues, others that describe and evaluate interventions, and still others that examine policy-relevant topics."
2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching." See especially chapters 19, 20 and 24 on reading, writing and second language learning.
3rd ed. New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1576 .H234 2011
"...offers an integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field."
New York : Guilford Press, c2006.
Green Library » Stacks » PE1404 .H358 2006
"bringing together critical reviews of the major theoretical, methodological, and instructional advances that have occurred over the last 15 years in the field of writing research, providing a 21st-century look at writing and writing research."
New York : Springer, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PE1128 .A2 I58 2007 PT.1
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.37 .H36 2006 V.2
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1050 .R635 2010
2nd ed. Los Angeles : Sage, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139 .L3 S344 2013

New books

5th ed. Loose-leaf version. Boston, MA : Allyn & Bacon/Pearson, c2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » NX280 .C67 2015
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1575 .W554 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » P120 .A24 Z85 2014
Practice-oriented.

Journals

[New York, etc., APS Publications, etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z1037 .A1 C5 V.39 2008
Detroit, Gale Research.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN1009 .A1 C5139 V.169 2012
[Oxford, Eng.] : The University Press, [c1981-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
Champaign, Ill., National Council of Teachers of English.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .E57 V.45 2012/2013
[Urbana, Ill., etc., National Council of Teachers of English, etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .E58 V.102 2012/2013
Boston, The Horn Book Inc.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Newark, DE : International Reading Assoc., c1995-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J815 V.55:NO.1-3 2011
Chicago, Ill. : National Reading Conference, c1996-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J8942 V.42 2010
[Urbana, Ill., National Council of Teachers of English]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .E35 V.89 2012/2013
Washington, DC : Hemisphere Pub. Corp.,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Oshkosh, Wis, [etc.] Academia Press [etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Newark, Del.] International Reading Association.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .R27 V.46 2011
[Chicago]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .R28 V.65:NO.1-4 2011/2012
[Urbana, Ill., etc., National Council of Teachers of English]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .R431 V.48 2013/2014
[Washington]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .T337 V.43 2009

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[New Haven, Conn.?] : Children's Literature
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[S.l] : Chadwyck-Healey, [1996]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Curriculum resources

Cover image of Avenues
Carmel, Calif. : Hampton-Brown, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1528 .A954 2004 F PRACTICE BK
Carmel, Calif. : Hampton-Brown, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PE1128 .A94 2004 F PRACTICE BK
Carmel, Calif. : Hampton-Brown, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1528 .A957 2004 F PRACTICE BK
Carmel, Calif. : Hampton-Brown, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1528 .A953 2004 F A SCHOOL
Carmel, Calif. : National Geographic School Publishing : Hampton-Brown, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1631 .E34 2009

Websites