You are here

ENGR 202W: Technical Writing

ENGR 202W - Autumn, Winter, Spring - Instructor: Reichard, C.
Last Updated: 21-Mar-2014

This guide is designed to help students in the Technical Communications Program who are perfecting their technical writing skills.  While it was designed for ENGR 202W: Technical Writing, it may also be of interest to students enrolled in ENGR 102E: Technical/Professional Writing for Electrical Engineers, ENGR 102M: Technical/Professional Writing for Mechanical Engineers or ENGR 202S: Writing: Special Projects.

Subject Librarians

Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877
Head of the Terman Engineering Library
(650) 725-1012
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Getting Started

Getting Help

Databases and Online Subscription Resources

Remember to find articles and citations use Databases.  To find Books, Conferences volumes, Journal/Magazine titles and database by name and subject type use the SearchWorks online catalog.

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
A good general source for articles on the business and market aspects of any field.
The 16th edition online version of the classic title. The latest edition features "music, foreign languages, and computer topics (such as Unicode characters and URLs)".
New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 1906
Engineering Index / Engineering Village covers the entire spectrum of engineering in depth, with abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Contains citations and abstracts to the literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. Covers journal articles, conference papers, significant books, technical reports, dissertations, and patents. INSPEC is the premier database for physics & related disciplines but also covers areas like systems management and operations research.
Need a table, equation or graph? Knovel e-books have interactive data in some books. You can export and work with the data. Use the “Data Search” tab.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts including 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide and over 3 million conference papers. Particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Also includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Linking between ScienceDirect and Scopus is available to access the full text of the article and related research.
[London] : Springer, 2009-
A constantly growing, searchable collection of images that spans the scientific, technical and medical fields. The collection gathers photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables. Instructions for re-use in your own presentations and papers are given.
Synthesis Lectures on Professionalism and Career Advancement for Scientists and Engineers in the Synthesis Digital Library contain helpful resources such as: A Handbook for Analytical Writing: Keys to Strategic Thinking by William E. Winner,
March 2013 and Oral Communication Excellence for Engineers and Scientists by Judith Shaul Norback, July 2013.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Provides for forward or backward cited searching. With a recent article, you typically use the bibliography to go back in time. In a way, the citation index lets you do the reverse. You can take an older article and see who has cited that article since it was published.
If Stanford does NOT have the book you need and you want to check whether any other Bay Area or U.S. library may have it. There is also a free public version of this resource.
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
xSearch lets you search selected subscription electronic resources simultaneously. Most xSearch resources are in the English language and cover business, humanities, social sciences, science and engineering, and area and international studies.