You are here

Environmental engineering resources

Last Updated: 18-Aug-2014

A listing of selected online and print resources for research in Environmental Engineering.

General engineering resources

A selection of good general databases with multidisciplinary holdings.

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
A good source for articles on the business and market aspects of civil, environmental, and construction engineering.
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Engineering Index / Engineering Village covers the entire spectrum of engineering in depth, with abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Contains citations and abstracts to the literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. Covers journal articles, conference papers, significant books, technical reports, dissertations, and patents. INSPEC is the premier database for physics & related disciplines but also covers areas like systems management and operations research.
Springfield, Va. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Technical Information Service,
Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTRL Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. Access via NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) also includes full-text access to more than 500,000 documents.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts including 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide and over 3 million conference papers. Particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Also includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Linking between ScienceDirect and Scopus allows access to the full text of the article and related research.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Provides for forward or backward cited searching. With a recent article, you typically use the bibliography to go back in time. In a way, the citation index lets you do the reverse. You can take an older article and see who has cited that article since it was published.

Selected environmental engineering resources

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Environmental engineers will be interested in its coverage of microbiology and biochemical/biological treatment of wastes.
Wallingford, Oxfordshire : CAB International, [19--]-
Search peer-reviewed journals, academic books, technical reports, bulletins, and conference proceedings in the life sciences: agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. Coverage is international with literature from over 125 countries and dozens of originating languages from 1900 to the present on Web of Science.
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Chemical Abstracts indexes worldwide literature from all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Covers air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Beltsville, Md. : The Library, <1970>-
Supported by the National Agricultural Library (U.S.).  Indexes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents and technical reports, related to all aspects of agriculture as well as selected sources in food and nutrition, agricultural economics and parasitology

Specialty environmental engineering resources

Over 800 books. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, chemical engineering.
[S.l.] : ScienceDirect, Elsevier Science, c1999-
Online source for scientific, technical, and medical research (STM) that offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 24 fields of science including the social sciences. Offers full-text articles, browsable tables of contents, and article abstracts. Many titles have full-text coverage from the first volume to the present.
[London, England] : IWA Publishing, 2002-
Access books, research reports, research papers and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater and related environmental topics. Coverage varies by resource, but is in general 2002 to present.

Internet resources for environmental engineering