You are here

Ethnic Narratives and the Rhetoric of American Identity

PWR 2AH - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Heredia, A.
Last Updated: 3-Sep-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 2AH: Ethnic Narratives and the Rhetoric of American Identity. Course topics include: how race and ethnicity in America have become subjects of personal negotiations and public perception; private and public aspects of ethnic identity.

Subject Librarians

Curator for Latin American, Iberian & Mexican American Collections
(650) 384-9392

Ethnicity and American Identity

Dynamic list of books and other items in the Stanford Libraries' collections about the Ethnicity in America. Items will appear in the list as they are added to SearchWorks, with newest items at the top of the list.

  1. Yuting Wang. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » F358.2 .M88 W26 2014

  2. Linda C. Noel. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » F820 .M5 N64 2014

  3. edited by Toyin Falola and Kwame Essien. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » DT31 .P317 2014

National characteristics American

The results of this search are limited to books in Green Library, which were published in English in the last 10 years. You can change the limits of the search.

  1. Lawrence Ferlinghetti. 2012

    Green Library » Stacks » PS3511 .E557 T56 2012

  2. Peter H. Schuck and James Q. Wilson, editors. 2008

    Green Library » Stacks » E169.12 .U479 2008

  3. by Lawrence Ferlinghetti. 2004

    Green Library » Stacks » PS3511 .E557 A83 2004

  4. Samuel P. Huntington. 2004

    Green Library » Stacks » E169.12 .H78 2004

Suggested Databases for Race and Ethnicity topics

Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for Articles about Ethnicity and American Identity

[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
[Norwood, Mass.] : SilverPlatter Information,
[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, 2003-
Berkeley, Calif. : Chicano Studies Library Publications, University of California, c1990-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E184 .M5 C43

Additional Race and Ethnicity Databases

  1. This enormous collection of African-American newspaper contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 18...

  2. A compilation of African American newspapers taken from the America's historical newspapers collection

  3. "The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1...

  4. "Created from the Library Company of Philadelphia's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that begain with Benjamin Frank...

  5. Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Z7164 .S66 A52

  6. Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

  7. "When complete, the collection will include more than 250 plays, of which some 50% have never been published before. The database also in...

  8. "Founded by former slave John Henry Murphy Sr. when he merged three church publications, The Baltimore Afro-American became one of the mo...

  9. Indexes works from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and U.S. and Canad...

  10. This primary source collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and public...

  11. "Black Drama, Second Edition contains the full text of 1,310 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights...

  12. Information on materials by and about African Americans, Africa and peoples of African ancestry. Includes catalog of the Schomberg Center...