You are here

Feel Me? The Rhetoric, Practice and Complication of Empathy

PWR 2DHB - Winter 2017 - Instructor: Hunter, D.
Last Updated: 19-Jan-2017

A guide for PWR 2DHB: Feel Me? The Rhetoric, Practice and Complication of Empathy

Subject Librarians

Outreach and Instruction Librarian
(650) 498-9137
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. NOTE THAT MANY OF THESE BOOKS HAVE CALL NUMBERS THAT START WITH B575 .E55.  THAT IS THE CALL NUMBER ASSOCIATED WITH THE PSYCHOLOGY OF EMPATHY.

Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF575 .E55 H69 2013
for a general overview of empathy
First American edition.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » BF575 .E55 K79 2014
Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, c2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » BF575 .E55 L56 2015
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » BF575 .E55 E57 2011
Green Library » Stacks » BJ1475 .E47 2014
This is also an e-book you can read and search online.
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2005.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » (no call number)
Berlin ; New York : Springer-Verlag, c2005.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Also an ebook! click on the link for fulltext
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » BF575 .E55 E463 2012
An ebook!
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » BF575 .E55 S63 2009
An ebook!

Databases for Psychology/Sociology Research

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Pubmed, or Medline. There are several providers of this database. The first link on the Searchworks record is for National Library of Medicine site. But  EBSCO and Proquest provide access to this database too.  I recommend choosing Medline/pubmed from the "Choose" or "Change" databases option within either Proquest or EBSCO. Then you can search PubMed along with the general (Academic Search Premier or Proquest Research Library) databases. You will be able to select results from either, or both, databases.

Sample Search Terms for Searchworks and Databases