Find newspapers/newspaper articles
This guide provides tips on how to find newspapers and newspaper articles at Stanford.
Stanford is fortunate to have print, online, and microfilm of current and historical newspapers from around the world. Approximately 190 newspaper titles are held in Green Library's Information Center.
Other libraries on campus have more subject specific newspapers. For titles in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean, see East Asia Library.
Table of Contents
Try our catalog, Searchworks, to find:
Newspapers by title; for online options, click on the icon that reads "Find full text":
Selected titles are displayed in two sections to the left of the Information Center desk in Green Library: North America and Selected International titles. These are arranged by area of the world, country, and then by title. Older issues and additional titles are shelved geographically in back of the IC-Display Periodicals.
Not all titles are retained. Check Searchworks for microfilm or older issues, including our great collection of African newspapers, which is sent to remote storage. They can be paged for delivery to use in Green Library.
Find newspaper articles
Access World News - current (1995/2000-) U.S. and international sources, mostly in English
AllAfrica - news from Africa, mostly in English and French, 1997-
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)
EastView Universal Databases - newspapers (and some periodicals) from Russia, Baltic countries, and Eastern Europe from East View Information Services
Factiva - latest 2 weeks for The New York Times, The Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and more; older issues available by using Search Builder
Historical Newspapers Online - The Times (1785-1980) and The New York Times (1851-1922)
Lexis/Nexis Academic - news, business and legal sources, radio and TV transcripts, 1980-
ProQuest Digital Microfilm - selected titles, not searchable, 2008-
ProQuest News and Newspapers - general databases, such as Alt-Press Watch and U.S. Hispanic Newsstand, historical titles (mostly from the U.S.), and current issues of Los Angeles Times
Print indexes of some titles, including Christian Science Monitor (1949-), Los Angeles Times (1986-), Le Monde (1944-2001), San Francisco Chronicle 1976-2011), Times Literary Supplement (1902-1985), and the latest year or two of Chicago Tribute, The New York Times, Washington Post, The Times) can be found in the Information Center. Some newspaper indexes are on microfilm or microfiche, such as San Francisco Chronicle (1950-1980), which is housed in Media/Microtext.