Food policy

Food policy subject guide

Databases

  • Agricola

    Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.

  • CAB Abstracts 

    Source for journal articles and other material on land use: agriculture, forestry, biotechnology, agricultural economics, tourism, nutrition, etc., 1910-present.

  • Zoological Record 

    Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.

Food and Agriculture Links

  • FAOSTAT
    Provides statistics on agriculture production, food and nutrition, fisheries, and forests.
  • FAO Corporate Document Repository
    Reports, fact sheets, and publications from FAO on such topics as food and agriculture policy
  • FAOBIB: FAO Catalogue Online
    FAOBIB is a multilingual catalog of documents and publications produced by FAO since 1945. 

Legal and Government Resources

  • House Committee on Agriculture
    The U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture’s website provides access to press releases, hearings, and legislation related to agriculture, including publications from the Subcommittee on Nutrition and Horticulture.
  • Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry
    The U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry’s website provides access to legislation, hearings and news items related to agriculture, including information from the Subcommittee on Hunger, Nutrition and Family Farms, which is responsible for local and healthy food initiatives and hunger prevention and school and child nutrition programs.
  • AgObservatory
    A project of the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, this website covers information related to U.S. and international agriculture, including food policy, food safety, food security, biotechnology and agribusiness, bioeconomy, and alternative approaches to agriculture. There is also a section related to the 2008 Farm Bill, including reports analyzing specific issues addressed in the bill, including the environment, labor and hunger.
  • Farm Foundation
    The Farm Foundation is a nonprofit organization that addresses policy issues in a number of agricultural areas, including local food systems. The website provides access to the Issue Report, a publication addressing the challenges of agriculture in rural America, as well as information from current projects looking at sustainable agriculture, food economics, and agricultural research.
  • Farmers’ Legal Action Group (FLAG)
    The Farmers’ Legal Action Group is a “nonprofit law center dedicated to providing legal services and support to family farmers and their communities in order to help keep family farmers on the land.” Their website provides legal information about organic farming, disaster assistance, and agricultural contracts, as well as links to numerous publications on a variety of topics, including conservation programs and family farming.
  • National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
    The National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition is an advocacy organization that seeks federal policy reform to “advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities.” In particular, their website provides information on “Marketing, Food Systems & Rural Development,” including local and regional food systems, organic production, farm-to-school programming, and food security issues.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking