News on the library front for French and Italian studies scholars at Stanford.
Table of Contents
New acquisitions in French literature
Works about French language and literature are found in the call number range PQ1-PQ3999. Most of them are found on the 3rd floor stacks in Green Library, others are in SAL3. Rare works and materials published before approximately 1830 can be consulted in Special Collections.
Green Library » Stacks » PQ3988 .G32 B45 2013
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PQ2663 .A7913 Z46 2013
À la lisière de l'absence : l'imaginaire du corps chez Jean-Philippe Toussaint, Marie Redonnet et Éric Chevillard
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PQ307 .B63 C68 2013
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » In process » PQ2663 .L275 Z55 2013
Green Library » Stacks » PQ3919.2 .O8 A81 2013
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PQ2607 .E694 Z64 2013
Green Library » Stacks » PQ3919.2 .O816 A62 2013
Green Library » Stacks » PQ2680 .R656 A63 2013
In addition to MLA International Bibliography, Ebsco, JSTOR and Project Muse article databases, try the following:
CAIRN - full text current French scholarly journals
PERSEE - full text French scholarly journals
Gallica - the BnF's digital library
ARTFL Project - a collection of full text French literature databases and other resources
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - contains the Corvey Collection of 19th century novels in digital format
Textes de la Renaissance and Colloques, Congrès et Conférences, Renaissance européenne - primary and scholarly works on the Renaissance
Electronic Enlightenment - correspondence between 18th century intellectuals
Making of the Modern World - primary sources on European political economy and social thought
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - 18th century primary sources
Periodicals Archive Online - full text scholarly journals and magazines, international scope.
Databases have largely replaced printed bibliographies, but the following titles are important to know about. Print bibliographies are still especially useful for single-author studies and similar focused topics.
Cabeen, D.C., ed. A Critical Bibliography of French Literature. New York: Syracuse University Press, 1947-. An annotated survey of editions, bibliographies and critical studies. Six volumes cover the Medieval period through the mid-20thcentury. Z2171.C3 IC
Klapp, Otto, ed. Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main: Klostermann, 1960- . This very comprehensive bibliography of scholarship on French literature will soon be available online. In the meantime, see the print edition. Z2171.B5 IC
Revue d'histoire littéraire de la France. Contains an important annual Bibliographie de la littérature française. 1985- . Contains bibliographies of recent publications, divided by time period, with author and title indexes.1985-2000 issued as a numbered issue of Revue d'histoire littéraire de la France 840.5 .R454. Bibliographie de la littérature française (XVIe-XXe siècles) 2001- .IC Z2171 .B53
Modern Language Association of America. Bibliography of French Seventeenth Century Studies. 1953-77. Continued by: French 17 (no.26-) 1978-
French XX Bibliography: Critical and Biographical References for the Study of French Literature since 1885. N.Y.: French Institute, 1949- . Annual.
The Year's Work In Modern Language Studies. London [etc.]: Modern Humanities Research Association [etc.], . PB1 .Y45 (Annual. Most recent in IC, earlier in Stacks). This annual publication offers bibliographic essays of new works of scholarship and is useful for seeing trends in research.
Hatin, Eugene. Bibliographie historique et critique de la presse périodique francaise, ou… Paris: Librairie de Firmin Didot Frères, fils, et cie., 1866. An important guide to early French periodicals. Z6956 F8H36
Notable materials and special collections
The Stanford University Libraries collects widely in the fields of French and francophone literature. We have particularly strong collections on 18th century literature and intellectual history, contemporary French and francophone literature, and theater. Popular literature from both the early modern and modern period, including literary accounts of immigrant life in France, urban life, and genre fiction are also well-represented. We are currently strengthening our holdings of early modern books, especially Renaissance poetry, and early examples of the novel. Materials published earlier than approximately 1830 can be consulted in Special Collections.
Here is a selection of rare or unique materials of interest to French literary scholars. Also check Au courant for monthly updates of selected acquisitions:
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1527 .A1 1538
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1635 .E65 1542 T
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1635 .A1 1548 T
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4272 .F5 A35 1556
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1601 .A46 O34 1568
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1986 .L3 1759
Lo'Nfarinato secondo; ovvero, Dello'Nfarinato, accademico della Crvsca. Risposta al libro intitolato Replica di Camillo Pellegrino ec. Nella qval risposta sono incorporate tutte le scritture, passate tra detto Pellegrino, e detti accademici intorno all'Ariosto, e al Tasso, in forma, e ordine di dialogo. Con molte difficili, cvriose, e graui, e nuoue quistioni di poesia, e loro discioglimenti, e con la tauola copiosissima
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4656.A2 S3 1588
La Diane de Georges de Montemaior : diuisee en trois parties & traduites d'espagnol en françois : reueuë & corrigee outre les precedentes impressions, comme il est mentionné en l'epistre liminaire
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ6414 .A214 1592 T
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1705 .T15 A63 1595 T
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ1635 .A1 1596 T