AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. Coverage is multidisciplinary. A wide variety of sources are indexed including: scientific periodicals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, theses, dissertations, and books.
BioOne is a full-text aggregation of bioscience research journals. Most are published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizations. Subjects covered by BioOne journals include ecology, evolution, environmental science, natural history, taxonomy, and systematics.
BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), Pubmed is a free version of MEDLINE that offers links to GenBank records, other molecular sequence data, and other resources. MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an index to journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. It indexes over 4,000 journals.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
Zoological Record indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present.
The ATCC is a global nonprofit bioresource center that offers biological products, technical services, and educational programs to private industry, government, and academic organizations. Subjects included are ATCC distributors, ATCC cultures, ATCC byproducts, and ATCC special collections.
This virtual library contains information on various subjects, such as biodiversity, botany, medicine, parasites, microbiology and zoology. Each subject heading leads to a listing of databases, servers and links about that subject.
BiologyBrowser, produced by BIOSIS, is a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community. The information provided is either produced exclusively for BIOSIS, or collected from reputable outside sources.
Biology online is broken into three categories, dictionary of biology, biology tutorials and biology on the web. Each category offers information on a variety of biological subjects, such as cell biology, genetics, ecology and neurology.
BioModels Database is a data resource that allows biologists to store, search and retrieve published mathematical models of biological interests. Models present in BioModels Database are annotated and linked to relevant data resources, such as publications, databases of compounds and pathways, controlled vocabularies, etc.
BiosciRegister.com is a manual compilation of biotechnology and life sciences suppliers enabling buyers to easily identify manufacturers of biotechnology equipment and reagents for cell biology, cell culture, genomics, proteomics and more. The site includes new projects, free magazines and trade publications, jobs, news and events.
The Department of Biology website includes information about the Carnegie institute, research interests and news, personnel directory, publications, protocols and a seminar schedule. The listing of links also includes information regarding Stanford research, departments and programs.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary digital journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. Newly commissioned protocols and unsolicited submissions are supplemented with articles based on Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory’s courses and manuals.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites, one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species, that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge.
Infomine has over 100,000 searchable, academically valuable resources, most specifically a section on biological, agricultural and medical sciences. After searching for a specific term, Infomine retrieves a myriad of databases and sources pertaining to that term.
The IMSR, sponsored by the Jackson Laboratory, is a searchable online database of mouse strains and stocks available worldwide, including inbred, mutant, and genetically engineered mice. The goal of the IMSR is to assist the international scientific community in locating and obtaining mouse resources for research.
ResearchGATE is a free professional network for scientists. It promotes communication with other scientists, discovery of new methods, papers, and people through a research based search engine, and collaboration using a suite of applications built specifically for researchers.
San Francisco is the first city with an Urban Forest Map thanks to a collaboration between Friends of the Urban Forest, the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, and the City of San Francisco. It is an online database of San Francisco's trees, including location, species, size, and health, with a cool map interface.
ScienceStage.com is an online portal for science, teaching, and research. The site offers a collection of audio and video files and printed documents that can be searched or browsed by scientific subject. Users can log in and add files to the collection. Groups can be created for online conferences and users can create profiles to promote collaboration. A news hub provides access to scientific news.
Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and cellular processes. The site also offers resources for effective science communication and career paths.
SBO is the Systems Biology Ontologies project, another cornerstone of the BioModels.net effort. The goal of SBO is to develop controlled vocabularies and ontologies tailored specifically for the kinds of problems being faced in Systems Biology, especially in the context of computational modeling.
Developed at the University of Arizona, the biology project is a comprehensive database of resources about multiple biological subjects. Also provided are many teaching and learning tools such as tutorials and problem sets.
Supports the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.