A Selection of Geographical Atlases At Stanford
Cary's New universal atlas : containing distinct maps of all the principal states and kingdoms throughout the world from the latest and best authorities extant.
London : Printed for J. Cary, engraver and map-seller, No. 181, near Norfolk Street, Strand, 1808.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » G1019 .C37 1808 FF
Theatrum orbis terrarum / opus nunc denuo ab ipso auctore recognitum, multisquè locis castigatum, & quamplurimis nouis tabulis atquè commentarijs auctum.
[Antuerpiae : Ex Officina Plantiniana, Abrah. Ortelij aere & cura, 1595]
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » G1006 .T5 1595 FF BB
Theatro del mondo di Abrahamo Ortelio: da lui poco inanzi la sua morte riueduto, & di tauole nuoue, et commenti adorno, & arricchito, con la vita dell'autore. Traslato in lingua toscana dal sigr. Filippo Pigafetta.
In Anversa, Si vende nella libraria Plantiniana, 1612.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » 910 .O77 FF
Antverpiae, Ex officina Christophori Plantini, 1587.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » KB1587 .O7 F
This is essentially a gazetter serving as a name authority for Ortelius (not an Atlas)
A Direction for the English traviller : by which he shal be inabled to coast about all England and Wales. And also to know how farre any market or noteable towne in any shire lyeth one from an other, and whether the same be east, west, north or south from ye shire towne. As also the distance betweene London, and any other shire or great towne: with the scituation thereof east, west, north, or south from London. By the help also of this worke one may know (in what parish, village, or mansion house soeuer he be in) what shires he is to passe through & which way he is to trauell till he come to the journies end ...
[London] : Are to be sold by Thomas Jenner at the South entrance of the Exchange, 1643.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » DA650 .D57 1643 T
Britannia depicta; or, Ogilby improv'd; being a correct coppy of Mr. Ogilby's Actual survey of all ye direct & principal cross roads in England and Wales: wherein are exactly delineated & engraven, all ye cities, towns, villages, churches, seats &c. scituate on or near the roads ... And to render this work universally usefull ... are added ... 1, A full & particular description & account of all the cities, borough-towns, towns-corporate &c. their arms ... &c. with suitable remarks on all places of note drawn from the best historians and antiquaries by Ino. Owen ... Lastly particular & correct maps of all ye counties of South Britain; with a summary description of each county ... By Eman: Bowen engraver.
The fourth edition. [London] Printed & sold by T. Bowles, 1736.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » DA615 .O3 1736
Atlas japannensis: being remarkable addresses by way ofembassyfrom the East-India company of the United Provinces, to the emperor of Japan. Containing a description of their several territories, ... thier religions, laws and customs; their prodigious wealth, ... ; the nature of their soil, plants, .... With the character of the ancient and modern Japanners Collected out of their several writings and journals by Arnoldvs Montanvs. English'd, ... by John Ogilby, esq. ...
London, Printed by T. Johnson for the author, 1670.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » KC1670 .M6 F
Atlas; or, A geographicke description of the world, Amsterdam 1636. With an introduction by R. A. Skelton.
Amsterdam, Theatrum Orbis Terrarum, 1968.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » G1025 .T54 V.2-3 FF
[Amsterdam, N. Israel, 1964]
Green Library » Flat Folio » G1006 .T44 1964 F
Amsterdam, Theatrum Orbis Terrarum, 1966.
Green Library » Flat Folio » G1025 .T53 F 1966
Atlas maior of 1665 / Joan Blaeu ; introduction and texts by = Einführung und Texte von = introduction et textes de Peter van der Krogt ; directed and produced by Benedikt Taschen.
Köln ; Los Angeles : Taschen, c2005.
Green Library » Flat Folio » G1015 .B4825 2005 F
England; a coloured facsimile of the maps and text from The theatre of the Empire of Great Britaine, first edition, 1611. Edited and introduced by John Arlott.
London, Phoenix House [1953-54
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » 912.42 .S742E F
Cary's New and correct English atlas [cartographic material] : being a new set of county maps from actual surveys, exhibiting all the direct & principal cross roads, cities, towns, and most considerable villages, parks, rivers, navigable canals &c. : preceded by a general map of South Britain, shewing the connexion of one map with another : also a general description of each county, and directions for the junction of roads from one county to another.
London : Printed for John Cary ..., 1787.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » G1808 .C33 1787 F
Topographical atlas projected to illustrate explorations and surveys west of the 100th meridian of longitude : prosecuted in accordance with act of Congress under the direction of Wm. W. Belknap / by the Corps of Engineers, U.S. Army, A.A. Humphreys ; embracing results of the different expeditions under Geo. M. Wheeler.
[Washington, D.C.] : The Corps, 1873-
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Locked Map Files: ask at circulation desk » G1460 .U5 1873 38(D)