You are here

GES 55Q: The California Gold Rush

GES 55Q - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Dennis K Bird
Last Updated: 16-Jan-2014

Library Course Guide for GES 55Q --The California Gold Rush: Geologic Background and Environmental Impact

Subject Librarians

Earth Sciences Librarian
(650) 724-6242
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Julie Sweetkind-Singer
Assistant Director of Geospatial, Cartographic and Scientific Data & Services, Head of the Branner Earth Sciences Library & Map Collections
(650) 725-1102
Curator for American and British History, Head, Humanities and Social Sciences Resource Group
(650) 485-9851

Getting Started

  

Searching Tips

  • Less is more!  If you don't find enough results on cycling of nitrates, instead try nitrogen.
  • Expand time or geography. If you don't find enough results onPost-Eocene San Joaquin-Tulare Basins, instead try (mesozioc or paleozoic or precambrain) AND San Joaquin.
  • Limit with caution. Certain limiting features may limit your retrieval in ways you don't expect. Some recommended limits are: Source Type, Date, and Limiting to “Peer reviewed” (in Basic and Advanced Search).
  • GeoRef search tip: The truncation symbol is an asterisk (*) and the wildcard is a questionmark (?). Using the * on a word will look for ALL possible variations for that word:

environment* will search for environment, environmental, environments …

[*3]magnet* will search for magnetic, demagnetization, geomagnetic, geomagnetism …

geolog*  will search for geology, geologic, and geological

  • Remember to use Boolean logic. Use the OR search connector to search for different phrasings. If you use AND and OR search commands in the same search, put parentheses around the OR terms: try (mesozioc or paleozoic or precambrain) AND San Joaquin.

To specify a location, consider your site at different scales. For information about Lake Tahoe, use terms like:

  • Lake Tahoe
  • Northern Sierra Nevada
  • State names (California and Nevada); County names

Also add geologically-related terms:

  • tectonics
  • stratigraphy
  • paleogeography
  • mines and mining

And consider both time periods and rock formations:

  • Cambrian, Pleistocene, etc.
  • Navajo Sandstone

Subject Searching: For a more directed search, do a subject search. In a subject search, you need to use official Library of Congress terminology. This type of language might not seem natural to you, but if you are not having any luck with keywords, it can be quite useful. For example, to find a guide for the Lake Tahoe region, you would type:

  • Geology--California--Guidebooks
  • Geology--Tahoe, Lake, Region (Calif. and Nev.)--Guidebooks
  • Geology--Nevada--Reno Region--Guidebooks

Other "official" subject terms include:

  • Geology, Structural
  • Faults (Geology)
  • Geology, Stratigraphic
  • Geology, Stratigraphic--Pleistocene
  • Plate tectonics

Databases

 Not sure where to start? Try one of these databases.

Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch allows you to search multiple databases at one time. Resources searched include abstracts and indexes that cover articles, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. xSearch resources also include full-text resources (books, journals, and reference materials).
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, geophysics and geochemistry. Coverage: 1785 - present
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers environmental sciences topics, including ecology, energy resources, and pollution issues. Coverage Dates: 1967 - present
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts & humanities. Also includes articles in-press. Coverage: 1996-present.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search 10,000+ journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Move backward or forward in time using cited/citing references. Updated weekly, covers Sciences 1899-present, Social Sciences 1898-present, and Arts and Humanities 1975-present.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Writing Help

A list of resources to assist with writing and publishing in the sciences.

2nd, comp. rev. ed. Weinheim ; Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD9.15 .E23 2004
PRINT ONLY. Coming to the aid of all those wishing to improve the quality of their scientific writing -- established researchers and aspiring students alike -- three experienced authors / scientists from differing backgrounds and cultures have compiled this classic guide.
Boston : Pearson, c2012.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Request at circulation desk » QE48.85 .C67 2012
PRINT ONLY. Instruction concerning the rules and styles of writing and speaking are addressed in relation to technical concerns specific to the Earth sciences, illustrating the importance of effective communication in geologic investigations. The book includes guidance on how to write an effective research paper, and the creation of PowerPoints, posters, a thesis, funding proposals, and more is covered in detail.
5th ed. Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1995.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .G46 1995
PRINT ONLY. This introduction to writing, editing, and printing will help students and scientists cope with a process that many dread - the process that starts with a decision to write something for publication.
New York : Springer, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » T11 .B543 2011
ONLINE. This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals.

Historical Newspapers

Maps

               

GES-55Q Course Reserves

No results