You are here

Grants and funding for science & engineering

Last Updated: 14-Apr-2016

A listing of selected online and print resources to help researchers in science and engineering identify funding opportunities.  It also has resources on grants awarded for users who want to see what types of proposals have been funded previously or who want to review research in progress.  Many resources are free; resources limited to Stanford users have a red "S" by them.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

Stanford resources

Databases

Funding opportunities

COS Pivot logo cropped 75 percent size
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Also known as Pivot, contains more than 25,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities, worth over $33 billion. Provides grant notices in all disciplines from federal and private sources and identifies researchers at other institutions with specific research interests. CREATING AN ACCOUNT: You must be on campus to set up a COS Pivot account. Having an account lets you use additional COS functions such as saving searches, and allows you to set up email alerts about fund opportunities from a sponsor or for a topic. After creating a COS Pivot account, you can access it from any location. SUPPORT: Please go to "Training and Resources" in lower right corner of the home page to download the Quick Start Guide.
Grants.gov
[Washington, DC] : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Grants.gov is your source to find and apply for federal grants. The Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies.

Grants awarded

Federal Research in Progress from Ebscohost
[Springfield, Va.] : National Technical Information Service.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Federal Research in Progress database provides access to information about ongoing federally funded projects in the fields of the physical sciences, engineering, and life sciences. It can be used to avoid research duplication, complement searches of completed research, identify gaps in areas of investigation, discover leads in literature, identify individuals with expertise, locate sources of support, and stimulate ideas for planning. Updated monthly.
Foundation Directory Online
New York : Foundation Center
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Updated weekly, Foundation Directory Online provides the most comprehensive and accurate information on U.S. grantmakers and their funding activities. The Stanford Libraries have licensed the Professional version of this directory which includes over 100,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities.

Grant acknowledgements in publications

[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)

Websites

External Grant and Funding Resources

Writing proposals

Writing research and grant proposals

Los Angeles : Sage, 2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » PE1404 .D46 2012
1st ed. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q180.55 .G7 B53 2003
2nd ed. New York ; London : Springer, 2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Boca Raton : CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, c2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 O78 2012
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Blackwell, c2013.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q180 .U5 L486 2013
Planning, proposing, and presenting science effectively : a guide for graduate students and researchers in the behavioral sciences and biolog
2nd ed. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH315 .H25 2006
5th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 L63 2007
2nd ed. Dordrecht ; New York : Springer Science+Business Media B.V., c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q180.55 .G7 C44 2004
New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q223 .H63 2010
3rd ed. New York, NY : Alpha, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Writing science : how to write papers that get cited and proposals that get funded
Oxford [U.K.] ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » T11 .S345 2012
2nd ed. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2009.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 F75 2009

Proposal writing for grants from SearchWorks

Below are titles at Stanford with the subject heading "Proposal writing for grants."

  1. Ellen Karsh and Arlen Sue Fox.. 2014

  2. Timothy Kachinske, Judith Kachinske. 2010

  3. Timothy Kachinske, Judith Kachinske. 2010

  4. edited by Willo Pequegnat and Ellen Stover. 1995

  5. Michael Hopkins. 1990

  6. National Endowment for the Humanities, Division of Public Programs. 1990s

Directories & guides

Chicago [etc.] Marquis Academic Media, Marquis Who's Who [etc.]
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » AS911 .A2 A67 ED.49 2016
Presents information on a variety of grants and endowments in such fields as the humanities, education, the sciences, urban and regional affairs, and technology.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Reference Service Press, 1978-
Green Library » Information Center » LB2338 .D564 2014/2016
The 2012-2014 edition contains detailed descriptions of nearly 1,500 funding programs. These opportunities identify billions of dollars in financial aid and funding that have been set aside primarily or exclusively for women.
2001 ed. / New York : The Center, c2001.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HV41.2 .F68 2001
This guide contains a wealth of information, including an annotated listing of grantmaker Web sites and a variety of related nonprofit sites of interest.
New York, Foundation Center; distributed by Columbia University Press.
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » AS911 .A2 F65 ED.38 2016
Provides descriptions of grant makers, including private grant-making foundations, community foundations, operating foundations, and corporate grant makers.
El Dorado Hills, Calif. : Reference Service Press, 2007-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference » LB2337.2 .M653 2010/2012
Only listing programs open to graduate students, it includes 800+ biggest and best fellowships, grants, and awards set aside for students interested in working on a master's, professional, or doctoral degree.
El Dorado Hills, Calif. : Reference Service Press
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference » LB2337.2 .S357 2010/2012
Contains nearly 900 biggest and best fellowships, grants, and awards set aside just for students interested in working on a master's or doctoral degree.
Lawrenceville, NJ : Peterson's, c2009-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB2337.4 .C66 2015
Contains billions of dollars in financial opportunities for college including federal grants, work-study programs, need-based and non-need-based gift aid, and athletic awards from more than 2,100 four-year colleges.