You are here

Graphic novels and education

Last Updated: 1-Jul-2014

This guide is for those who are interested in the use of graphic novels in education and for those who want to know some of the graphic novels in Cubberley Library.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Operations Manager
(650) 723-2121 (650) 723-9463

Background information

New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » PS121 .H22 2011
See especially Chapter 18 "Comics and Graphic Novels" pp. 256-274.

Graphic novels/nonfiction

In addition to Cubberley Library, you will find graphic novels in Green Library, East Asia Library, and SAL3.  Many in fiction are shelved under PN6727, but they are popping up in other subject areas, as well.

Art

Cover image of Drawing from memory
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S39 A2 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book, 2012; Ages 10-15; Autobiography, gr. 5-8

Folklore & mythology

1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H52 O39 2010
Lexile measure 840; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
Golden, Colo. : Fulcrum Pub., c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » E98 .F6 T73 2010
Gr.8-12

History & biography

Cover image of Abina and the important men
1st ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » KRX46 .M36 .G48 2012
Children's Africana Book Award, 2013; Gr. 9-12. "The first of its kind, Abina and the Important Men is a compelling and powerfully illustrated 'graphic history' based on a 1876 court transcript of a West African woman named Abina, who was wrongfully enslaved and took her case to court....it uses the power of illustration to convey important theme in world history and to reveal the processes by which history is made."
1st ed. New York : Rosen Pub. Group, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1230 .C385 A3618 2009
Ages 8 and up; Gr.3 and up
Skokie, Ill. : Nachshon Press, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS118 .W65 2007
Ages 12 and up
Cover image of Malcolm X
1st ed. New York : Hill and Wang, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BP223 .Z8 L5745 2006
Book level 6.6; Ages 12-18
Marietta, GA : Top Shelf Productions, 2013-
Green Library » Stacks » E840.8 .L43 A3 2013 BK.1
Ages 11 and up
1st American ed. New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT1974 .N47 2009 F
Ages 11-18
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .S54 A3 2006
Ages 11-18; Gr.4-8
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F548.9 .N4 N47 2010
Ages 12 and up

Science & health

Cover image of Smile
1st ed. New York : Graphix, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RK55 .Y68 T45 2010
Lexile measure 410; Ages 9-13; Gr.5-8
Toronto : Groundwood Books, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC903.15 .E93 2007
Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12

Graphic novels/fiction

Cover image of American born Chinese
1st Square Fish ed. New York : Square Fish, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 A54 2008
Lexile measure 530; Book level 3.3; Ages 12-18; Gr.6-10
1st ed. New York : Graphix, 2008-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .J34 A48 2008 BK.1
Lexile measure 310; Book level 2; Ages 9-12; Gr.3-5
New York : A.A. Levine, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T35 2006 F
Ages 8 and up; Gr.6 and up
2nd hardcover ed. Montréal : Drawn & Quarterly ; New York : Distributed in the USA and abroad by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .C853 A2613 2008
Gr. 9-12
Cover image of Benny and Penny in the big no-no
New York : Toon Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .B46 H39 2009
Lexile measure 30; Book level 1.3
First edition. New York : First Second, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 B68 2013 V.1
Ages 11 -14
1st ed. Columbus, Ohio : Active Synapse, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H768 C52 2000
Gr.5-7
Lexile measure 740; Ages 10-14; Grade level 5.2; Horror & supernatural; Fantasy, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Graphix/Scholastic, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T294 D73 2012
Ages 10-14; Gr.5-7
Cover image of Gris Grimly's Frankenstein
1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .G747 G75 2013
Ages 12-18; Gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : Doubleday, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .E35 F34 2003
Ages 15 to adult
1st American ed., Rev. ed. New York : First Second, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .L3298 K36 2006
Book level 5.1; Ages 12-18; gr.5-8
Watertown, MA : : Charlesbridge, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .O27 T36 2006
Lexile measure 680; Book level 4.7; Ages 7-12; Gr.4-7
Cover image of Little mouse gets ready
New York : RAW Junior, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .S546 L58 2009
Lexile measure 160; Book level 1.3; Ages 4-7; gr.PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .L86 K76 2009
Lexile measure 240; Ages 7-10
1st ed. El Paso, TX : Cinco Puntos Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .U77 M7 2010
Book level 4.4; Ages 14 +
San Francisco, CA : Viz Media ; Washington, DC : The World Bank, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LC1481 .R66 2006
Cover image of Rapunzel's revenge
1st U.S. ed. New York, N.Y. : Bloomsbury, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H246 R36 2008
Lexile measure 500; Book level 3.2; Ages 11-15; Gr.4-7
2nd ed. Columbus, Ohio : Active Synapse, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H594 S25 2003
Gr.7-12
Toronto ; Berkeley : Groundwood Books, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6733 .T353 S55 2008
Book level 3.4; Ages 14 +; Gr.9-12
New York : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .K278 T56 2011
Ages 12 and up