You are here

He Said, She Said: The Rhetoric of Gender Politics

PWR 1PH - Winter 2013 - Instructor: Hanlon-Baker, P.
Last Updated: 27-Feb-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 1PH: He Said, She Said: The Rhetoric of Gender Politics. Course topics include: the ways in which news articles, movie clips, magazine advertisements, television commercials as well as other texts present gender roles. How are the roles and bodies of both sexes presented as objects open to scrutiny, critique, exploitation, abuse, and awe?

Subject Librarians

Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(650) 206-3528
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Databases

Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Baltimore, MD : National Information Services Corporation,
Green Library » Information Center » Z7164 .S66 A52
Fort Washington, Penn. : AccuNet.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Beachwood, OH : Responsive Database Services,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England : Adam Matthew Publications, 2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Baltimore, Md. : National Information Services Corp.,
Green Library » Information Center desk » HQ1 .F367
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Philadephia, Pa.] : Institute for Scientific Information
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Abingdon, Oxfordshire : Taylor & Francis Ltd., 2000-
Green Library » Information Center » HQ1180 .S78 V.30 NO.2 DEC 2012
[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Old Westbury, N.Y. : Feminist Press, ©1982-1984.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Alexandria, VA : Alexander Street Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Background Information

Reference Books

Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012.
Green Library » Information Center » P96 .S5 E53 2012
Encyclopedia of gender in media
Los Angeles : Sage, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » HQ1115 .E54 2009 V.1
Encyclopedia of gender and society
1st ed. New York : Lippincott & Crowell, 1980.
Green Library » Stacks » PN218 .M5
Handbook of Nonsexist Writing
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » P120 .S48 M555 2008
Language and sexism