You are here

Health Matters: Health Innovation and Communication

PWR 1KSB - Winter 2013 - Instructor: Savelson, K.
Last Updated: 18-Nov-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1KSB: Health Matters: Health Innovation and Communication. The premise of the course is that "health" needs to be defined and studied in context  What is health? Is this a medical question, or a cultural, political, or ethical question? While we cannot universally define "health," it's now a legal issue as well.

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

3rd ed. New York : Macmillan Reference USA : Thomson/Gale, c2004.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » QH332 .E52 2004 V.1
Also a searchable digital encyclopedia
2nd ed. Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist, c2007.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » RA445 .A442 2007
2nd ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2003.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » RA395 .A3 R685 2003
New York ; London : Springer, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2004.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » RA418 .E354 2004 V.1
Oxford ; Seattle : Radcliffe Pub., c2005.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RA441.5 .M33 2005
This work is a collection of almost 200 consumer health publications produced by the US government. The texts are replicated in full and cover a wide variety of topics that include: AIDS; allergies; cancer; contraception; genetic diseases; and women's health.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Praeger, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » RA424.8 .P83 2011 V.1

Databases

Besides the selected GENERAL AND SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES LINKED HERE , try the databases below for Articles on particular perspectives on Health

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
add ("choose databases"): America: History and Life, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Film and TV Literature Index, MLA (Literature)
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Click on the link at the top "Social Science Databases". you can search all, or select one or more: AltPress Watch, Gender Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, Sociological Abstracts, Psycinfo, PAIS (public policy).
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
a cross-section of scientific and social science - try, for example, searching: health policy and nutrition
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Medline: there are several databases that provide coverage of the NIH PubMed database. The easiest to use is the one provided by EBSCO.
Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental health services; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services.
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Suggested E-Journals

When you search a particular journal, you don't need to use as many keywords in your search. You already know the focused perspective of the journal by its description.

[New York, NY] : Springer, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford : Oxford University Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Sample Books of Interest

2nd ed. Washington, D.C. : Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, c2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Totowa, N.J. : Humana Press, c2007.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RA563 .M56 E45 2007
New York, NY : Springer, c2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Maidenhead, Berkshire : Open University Press, 2005.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RA395 .A84 C65 2005
Washington, DC : World Bank ; Geneva : World Health Organization : International Labour Office, 2004.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)