You are here

History and social science education

Last Updated: 10-Apr-2014

This is a guide for those interested in history and social science education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

New York : Routledge, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1584 .H2748 2008
"Given its many disciplinary roots, competing perspectives about appropriate goals, and ongoing conflict over the content of the social studies curriculum, social studies will no doubt remain complex, challenging, and, one hopes, dynamic. It need not remain under-researched. We hope that this Handbook will not only outline the present state of things, but encourage the kind of new research needed to move the field forward and foster the civic competence that advocates for social studies have long claimed as a fundamental goal of the field."
2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching." See especially, chapter 23 "Learning and Teaching Social Studies."

Practice

[Sacramento, Calif.] : California Department of Education, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .C15 2013

New books

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC196 .K67 2013
[Sacramento, Calif.] : California Department of Education, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .C15 2013

Journals

[Notre Dame, Ind.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .H676 V.46 2012/2013
London, England ; Portland, Or. : Woburn Press, 1998-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » D16.2 .I58 V.7
New York City, 1937-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .S677 V.76 2012
Philadelphia, Pa. : McKinley Pub. Co., 1953-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .S679 V.100 2009
Sacramento, CA : California Council for the Social Studies, 1973- Roseville, CA : California Council for the Social Studies Millbrae, CA : California Council for the Social Studies Palmdale, CA : California Council for the Social Studies Chico, CA : California Council for the Social Studies
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .S6793 V.49-50 2010-2011

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Indexes and abstracts articles in history, both about the U.S. and Canada.
Santa Barbara, Calif. [etc.] ABC-Clio [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » D299 .H5 V.16
Indexes and abstracts articles in history for the world except the U.S. and Canada.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Norwood, Mass.] : SilverPlatter Information,
Indexes works from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and U.S. and Canadian government publications. Areas covered include native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.

Primary resources

Archive of Americana includes Early American Imprints with all sorts of early schoolbooks and other works that touch on education, historical newspapers and historical government documents.
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest information and Learning Co. c2005-
C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.5 million books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 16.3 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 12 bibliographic indexes, including almost a million records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collections I and II.
"APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers." This includes fulltext of early education journals such as the American Annals of Education and the American Journal of Education.
[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, 2003-
"Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material."
Painstakingly assembled from hundreds of sources, Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
"Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience and bear witness to the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America. The database currently holds over 10,400 images."
"North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants."
[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, c2005-
"This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. When complete North American Indian Thought and Culture will include 123,000 pages of text and images."
"North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database."
"This online archive delivers essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves."
[Marlborough, Wiltshire, England] : Adam Matthew Publications
"This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba,"
"Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London This digital resource offers the unique resources of the World’s oldest Holocaust museum."
Scholar's edition. Alexandria, VA : Alexander Street Press ; Binghamton, N.Y. : Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender at the State University of New York, Binghamton
"Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 94 document projects and archives with more than 3,750 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and almost 2,100 primary authors."

Textbooks

Teacher's annotated ed. New York : Glencoe, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .D78 1995
Teacher's ed. Austin, Tex. : Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .A4899 2007
Teacher's Wraparound Edition. New York : Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .A77 2003
Teacher's wraparound ed. New York : Glencoe/McGraw-Hill [c2000]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .A77 2000
Teacher's ed. Evanston, IL : McDougal Littell, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .A493675 2003
2nd ed. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .E17 2001C V.A
2nd ed. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .E17 2001B V.1
2nd ed. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .E17 2001
Teacher's wraparound ed., Multimedia ed. New York : Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .B788 1998 F
5th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D20 .M485 1997
Annotated teacher's ed. , 6th ed. Needham, Mass. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .B716 2002
Teacher's Wraparound Edition New York : Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .G52 2001
Combined ed., 5th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Education, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D20 .E82 2004
Minneapolis/St. Paul : West Pub. Co., c1995-c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .L75 1995 V.1
Teacher's ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .P96 2003
Annotated teacher's ed. Austin : Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, c1994.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E178.1 .G237 1994 PT.1
4th ed. Belmont, CA : Wadsworth/Thomson Learning, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D20 .W885 2002 V.1
Teacher's ed. Austin [Tex.] : Holt, Rinehart and Winston, c1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .W588 1999
Annotated teacher's ed. Austin : Holt, Rinehart and Winston, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D16.2 .W674 2000
New York, N.Y. : Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .G54 2001
New York, N.Y. : Glencoe McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D21 .F37 2003
Teacher's wraparound ed. New York, New York : Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D209 .F37 2001 F

Curriculum resources

2nd ed. Providence, RI : Thomas J. Watson Jr. Institute for International Studies, Brown University, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2521 .B72 2010
1st ed. Chicago : Chicago Review Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F861.3 .D84 2012
9th ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1236 .C382 2010
2nd ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KZ5665 .C53 2008
4th ed. Providence, RI : Choices for the 21st Century Education Program, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E357 .C49 2009
Stanford, CA : Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HC427 .J36 2012 F
10th ed. Providence, R.I. : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E183.8 .C5 C45 2010
Berkeley : University of California Press, c2006.
Green Library » Stacks » E184 .C5 C479 2006
Kumasi, Ghana : Alpha & Omega Publications, c2008-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JQ3037 .A2 A39 2008 V.1
3rd ed. Providence, RI : Choices Program, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT652 .C69 2007
First edition. Providence, RI : THE CHOICES PROGRAM, WATSON INSTITUTE FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDIES, BROWN UNIVERSITY, 2010, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JC571 .C6437 2010
5th ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV6322.7 .C65 2008
4th ed. Providence, RI : Choices Program, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HC60 .D55 2010
Stanford, CA : Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JZ1745 .A57 U6 2010
5th ed. Providence, RI : Choices Program, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D767.2 .E54 2007
2nd ed. Providence, RI : Choices for the 21st Century Education Program, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E446 .F67 2008
3rd ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT1757 .F74 2006
13th ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HC79 .E5 G5944 2009
1st ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1923 .H25 2010
Stanford, CA : Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS910.2 .K7 I58 2011
1st ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HF1379 .I57 2009
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DK508.48 .B76 2011
2nd ed. Providence, RI : Choices Program, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS272 .I73 2009
Stanford, CA : Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS557.74 .K66 2011 F
Rev. ed. Stanford, CA : Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1409.9 .M257 2011
6th ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E183.7 .R47 2008
1st ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E183.8 .R9 R8915 2008
13th ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS63.2 .U5 S55 2010
14th ed. Providence, RI : Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University, c2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6483 .U83 2010

Websites