You are here

History of education

Last Updated: 15-Dec-2014

This guide is for those beginning research in the history of education.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA212 .B295 2008 V.1
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC212.52 .R34 1998
"Herein brief essays describe the over 270 key court decisions, people, types of school desegregation plans, legislation, organizations, terms and concepts, and reports and publications that have played a significant role in the history of this topic."
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC1752 .H57 1998
"a concise reference tool for researchers, scholars, teachers, students, and laypersons interested in examining significant events, ideas, movements, institutions, and people concerned with the history of women's education in the United States from the colonial period to the present."
Millennial ed. New York : Cambridge University Press, c2006.
Green Library » InfoCenter: statistics shelves (non-circulating) » HA202 .H57 2006 V.1
See especially the section on Education in Vol. 2, pp. 387-498.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA173 .H584 2009 V.1
New York : Routledge, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.3 .H57 2008 V.1
Los Angeles : Sage, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC2717 .S34 2009
"comprehensive collection of theoretical and empirical scholarship in six important areas: historical perspectives, teaching and learning, PK-12 school leadership, higher education, current issues, and education policy."
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1

New books

Paris : Harmattan, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC116 .F8 G55 2014
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2336 .T47 2014
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA212 .G65 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2844.47 .U62 N485 2014
Paris : United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » D804.33 .H6527 2014
1st ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC506 .I7 O54 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB695 .J42 H65 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3409 .U5 G37 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB14.7 .A475 2014
1. ed. Milano : UNICOPLI, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA175 .A53 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA245 .C66 S77 2014

Journals

Pittsburgh, Pa.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
New Brunswick : Transaction Publishers, c2005-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA173 .H58 V.30 2013
[Pittsburgh] University Center for International Studies, University of Pittsburgh.
Green Library » Current Periodicals

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Industries,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles in history, both about the U.S. and Canada.
Ann Arbor, MI : Bell & Howell, 2000.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers." This includes fulltext of early education journals such as the American Annals of Education and the American Journal of Education.
[Chester, Vt.?] : Readex
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Archive of Americana includes Early American Imprints with all sorts of early schoolbooks and other works that touch on education, historical newspapers and historical government documents.
[Norwood, Mass.] : SilverPlatter Information,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present."
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest information and Learning Co. c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.5 million books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 16.3 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 12 bibliographic indexes, including almost a million records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collections I and II.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes articles on education from English-language periodicals from 1929 to 1983.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles in history for the world except the U.S. and Canada.
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

Websites