You are here

Holocaust Studies

Last Updated: 28-Aug-2014

Selected resources on the Holocaust at Stanford University Libraries and beyond, including databases, memorial (Yizkor) books, and survivor memoirs.

Subject Librarians

Zachary Baker, in the outdoor passageway between Green Library and the School of Education.
Assistant University Librarian for Collection Development - Humanities and Social Sciences, Reinhard Family Curator of Judaica and Hebraica Collections
(650) 724-2736 (650) 725-1054
Assistant Curator, Judaica & Hebraica Collections , Interim Bibliographer, Linguistics
(650) 736-1306

Databases

The Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism comprises an online database accessible through Israel's university library network (ALEPH), and printed bibliographies. The bibliography includes works published throughout the world about antisemitism--books, dissertations, master's theses, and articles from periodicals and collections. It does not include newspaper articles, reviews, and works of fiction, nor does it cover antisemitic publications. The project has two parts: the ongoing annotated bibliography (from 1984 to the present), and the retrospective bibliography, which lists books and articles, published prior to 1984 (presently includes works published from 1965-1983). The long-term goal is to compile a comprehensive listing of all works written about antisemitism throughout history. For the purpose of this bibliography, antisemitism is defined as antagonism toward Jews and Judaism as expressed in writings (e.g., the New Testament, polemical literature, works of fiction), in the visual arts (e.g., art, caricatures, films), and in actions (e.g., massacres and pogroms, discriminatory legislation, the Holocaust). Since 1988, the bibliography includes all works dealing with the Holocaust period (1933-1945), i.e., on antisemitic ideology, policy, and attitudes, as well as on the Jewish experience (memoirs, memorial books, etc.).
[Jerusalem : Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism, 1999?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The resource comprises online databases containing about 30,000 items. New material is added on a regular basis. It is accessible through Israel's university library network (ALEPH), and printed bibliographies. The bibliography includes works published throughout the world about antisemitism -- books, dissertations, master's theses, and articles from periodicals and collections. It does not include newspaper articles, reviews, and works of fiction, nor does it cover antisemitic publications. The "Jewish question" in German-speaking countries, 1848-1914 continues the Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Judenfrage by Volkmar Eichstädt.
Los Angeles, CA : Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes biographical information on interviewees from the Shoah Foundation's Holocaust survivors' videotaped testimonies. Over 42,000 data records which give biographical information and wartime experiences of survivors are accessible through the catalogue. Interviewees are from nine experience groups including Jews, Jehovah?s Witnesses, Sinti and Roma, homosexuals, political prisoners, survivors of eugenics policies, rescuers and aid providers, liberators, and war crimes trials participants.
[Stamford, CT?] : Cengage Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This digital collection from the Wiener Library in London offers searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, small publications and rare serials reflecting Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. Items are arranged in five categories: over 1,200 eyewitness accounts, about 4,000 photographs, over 400 Nazi propaganda materials (many of which are very rare), various Wiener Library publications from the 1930s to the 1960s, and the library's biographical index cards.
[Los Angeles, CA] : USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999. Most testimonies have been indexed for keywords at one-minute segments. The archive also includes the indexed testimonies of 65 survivors and rescuers of the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide. While 15 of these testimonies were conducted by the USC Shoah Foundation mainly in the United States, 50 of this collection belong to Aegis Trust and the Kigali Genocide Memorial (KGM), whose staff conducted these interviews between 2006 and 2011.

Holocaust Memorial (Yizkor) books

  1. edited by Rosemary Horowitz. 2011

  2. edited by A. Alperin and N. Summer. 2012

  3. project coordinator, Menachem Daum, translation edited and annotated by Fay and Julian Bussgang. 2012

  4. L(ieber) Losh, publisher. 2010

  5. Dov Shuval, editor. Editorial committee Moshe Weinstock, Efraim Farber, Abraham Wolfson, Shimon Scher, Zvi Traeger (Tal), Hanoch Becher, Chaya Schissel. English translation by Jacob Solomon Berger. 2005

  6. [editor, English edition, Asher Tarmon ; translators, Esther Klauger ... et al.].. 2004

  7. editor, Berl Kagan ; [translated from Yiddish Max Rosenfeld].. 1989

  8. project coordinator and translator, William Leibner ; editor, Phyllis Kramer. 2014

  9. David Ravid (Shmukler), editor ; English translation prepared and published by Jacob Salomon Berger. 2006

  10. English translation prepared and published by Jacob Solomon Berger. 2002

Holocaust Survivor memoirs

  1. edited and collated by Esther Goldberg ; with an introduction and 36 new colour maps by Martin Gilbert. 2004

  2. by Joachim Schoenfeld ; foreword by Simon Wiesenthal. 1985

  3. Deborah Lee Prescott. 2010

  4. by Abram Korn ; edited by Joseph Korn ; annotated by Richard Voyles. 1995

  5. by Herbert Boucher. 1997

  6. Sabina S. Zimering. 2002

  7. Vivette Samuel ; translated and with an introduction by Charles B. Paul ; with a foreword by Elie Wiesel. 2002

  8. George Lucius Salton, with Anna Salton Eisen. 2002

  9. Rhodea Shandler ; introduction by S. Lillian Kremer ; afterword by Roxsane Tanner. 2007

  10. by Trudi Birger, written with Jeffrey M. Green. 1992