You are here

How we got schooled: the rhetoric of literacy and education

PWR 2JPA - Winter 2016 - Instructor: Peterson, J.
Last Updated: 25-Mar-2016

This is a guide to resources in support of PWR 2JPA: How We Got Schooled: The Rhetoric of Literacy and Education. "How did you learn to read? The quick answer is in school. But how did you learn to read things other than books, for instance, websites, movies, people?....In this course, we'll look closely these learning processes."

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Overviews

"This handbook engages in an expanisve conversation about consequential literacy learning and the forms of educaiton change needed to create equitable, sustainable, and robuse learning ecologies."

Recent books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1573 .M3178 2015
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1044.9 .C59 J33 2013
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1068 .A75 2013
New York, NY : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC149.5 .V57 2013
New York : Routledge, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC149 .N49 2012
New York : P. Lang, c2012.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » GV1469.17 .S63 L43 2012
Los Angeles : SAGE, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.5 .L35 E15 2012 V.1
Cover image of The language of gaming
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » GV1469.3 .E66 2012

Films

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Streaming services

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource