You are here

I Post Therefore I Am: 21st Century Identity?

PWR 2DH - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Hunter, Donna
Last Updated: 1-Apr-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 2DH: I Post Therefore I Am: 21st Century Identity?. This research guide broadly covers the research process from researching reference materials for broad subject reading to database searching for articles.

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P87.5 .I585 2013 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P96 .S5 E53 2012
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HM741 .E53 2011 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » KF1263 .C65 G45 2011
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » BD236 .E42 2010 V.1
New York : Routledge, c2007.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HQ796 .I58 2007 V.1
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HQ796 .C8154 2006 V.1

Subject Search Terms

Listed below are Library of Congress subject terms, which search only the subject field(s) of the Searchworks catalogue.

  1. Neil J. Salkind, University of Kansas. 2015

  2. Carol A. Silvis. 2015

  3. Sandra Smidt. 2015

  4. Nigel Raby, Laurence Berman, Simon Morley, Gerald de Lacey. 2015

  5. Kathryn Herr (Montclair State University), Gary L. Anderson (New York University). 2015

Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. It also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles"
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A collection of research databases in various fields. Search screen allows the user to search several simultaneously"
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+)."
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Content:"Core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » NONEAQD4378
"Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics."

Proquest Social Sciences Databases

"Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."