You are here

Illness Narratives: Attention, Empathy, and Storytelling

PWR 2JLC - Fall 2014 - Instructor: Lee, J.
Last Updated: 28-Aug-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 2JLC: Illness Narratives: Attention, Empathy, and Storytelling. This course examines narrative medicine's rhetoric of attention and empathy as it pertains to the relationships between doctors and patients, between caregivers and the afflicted.

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 724-6980
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources on Illness Narrative

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., c2007.
Green Library » Stacks » HM425 .B53 2007 V.1
             see article titled: Illness Narrative.
2nd ed. Boston : Elsevier, c2006.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P29 .E48 2006 V.1
            See article titled: Medical Discourse: Illness Narratives
3rd ed. New York : Macmillan Reference USA : Thomson/Gale, c2004.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » QH332 .E52 2004 V.1
             See article on "Narrative"
4th ed. Oxford ; Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, 2000.
Green Library » Stacks » GN296 .H45 2000
Burlington, Mass. : Elsevier Academic Press, c2007
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Suggested Databases

In addition to the Selected Databases try these for more information on the medical narrative.

Remember to use the find it at SFX Stanford links to find full text of articles 

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » NONEAQD4378
Search terms: Illness Narrative, Medical Narrative
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
I find the EBSCO Host version the easiest to use
Cumulative ed. Bowling Green, Ohio, Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green University.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7127 .P4 V. 39 NO.4 2005

Electronic Journals

You can opt to search in a particular journal rather than a database. Here are some interesting journals for particular perspectives on illness.

[Houndsmills, Basingstoke, Hants] : Palgrave Macmillan c2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, D.C. : Society for Medical Anthropology, c1983-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » GN296 .M418 N.S.V.22:NO.2-4 2008

Citations and bibliographic management

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.