You are here

Information Design: The Visual Language of Graphic Communication

PWR 2SLA - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Lee, S.
Last Updated: 25-Mar-2014

This is the course research guide for Writing & Rhetoric 2: The Visual Language of Graphic Communication. This research guide broadly covers the research process from researching refernce materials for broad subject reading to database searching for articles. 

 

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Reference/Background Resources

Reference sources can be a good source of preliminary information on a topic and a means to collect useful keywords. They also often contain bibliographies that cite key texts and thinkers associated with a specific topic. The online resources listed here are a small sample of the reference materials Stanford has to offer; many are in print form and can be found by searching SearchWorks or by physically browsing the libraries' reference areas.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term. 

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

Reference Databases

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching"
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Access to authorized Oxford reference online subscribers only. Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press."
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."

Subject Search Terms

Listed below are Library of Congress subject terms, which search only the subject field(s) of the Searchworks catalogue. You can refine your results by using the limiting facets with the left frame. Narrow by SUL (Stanford University Libraries) location, publication year, language, etc.

Databases

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. Includes the Wall Street journal"
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs"
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Oxford, Eng. [etc.] Santa Barbara, Calif., Clio Press [etc.]
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » Z5935 .L2 V.4:NO.2 1973
"Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year. Published with title LOMA from 1969-1971."
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with 1994; full-text coverage begins with 1997"
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson, 1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Index of 420 art publications, including important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, from around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984."
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Business Source Complete ... [provides] full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922."
[Philadelphia] : Institute for Scientific Informtion, [1999?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Index opens the power of patent searching to all levels of an organisation. It offers an unrivalled breadth of coverage by combining value-added patent records from Derwent World Patents Index with patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. This unique merged data set, comprising 14.3 million inventions from 41 worldwide patent-issuing authorities, is accessed through an intuitive web interface. You can browse easily between patent records without using a complicated search language, and explore related ideas using citation links."
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A collection of research databases in various fields. Search screen allows the user to search several simultaneously"
Newton Lower Falls, MA : SilverPlatter Information, Inc., 1990-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HB1 .E23 1969-1975
"Comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collective volumes), compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Over 99% of the articles are in English or include English summaries."
Cambridge, UK : Proquest
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields; Scholarship from at least 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues; Very international coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications (principally German, French, Italian and Spanish)"
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+). This combined resource has bibliographic records from journals, conferences, patents, and other publication types, as well as cited references, and is updated weekly. Functionality includes browsing of cited authors, cited reference searching, personal preferences, search history, alerts, and the ability to display, e-mail or download references.)"
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co., c1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
""Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982."

Proquest Social Science Databases

"Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."