You are here

Inorganic chemistry

Last Updated: 17-Mar-2015

Research guide to selected resources in inorganic, bioinorganic, coordination, and organometallic chemistry.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

Featured resource

Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II
[2nd ed.]. Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier, c2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II reviews and examines topics of relevance to today's inorganic chemists. Covering more interdisciplinary and high impact areas, it includes biological inorganic chemistry, solid state chemistry, materials chemistry, and nanoscience. The new work also complement other recent Elsevier works in this area, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry and Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry, to form a trio of works covering the whole of modern inorganic chemistry.

Stanford University. Department of Chemistry. Theses.

Sorry, there was an error with the RSS feed.

Keep current

This page contains information to help you stay up-to-date. It includes alerting services that will notify you when newly added items in a database match your search criteria, current awareness publications that you can browse or search, and calendars to meetings and events.

As part of the process, determine where you want to store citations of interest.  For example, consider saving citations in a bibliography management tool. Do you want to have alerts sent to you by email?  Or, do you want to use an RSS news feed aggregator like Feedly to provide access to new items.

BrowZine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
BrowZine is an app that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. It works on these types of devices: all iPads, iPhones and iPod Touches with iOS v7.x+, Android Tablets and Smartphones with OS v4.1+ and Kindle Fire HD Tablets.  You can browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries
Web of Knowledge logo small
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated daily, Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.   It provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information, including abstracts, from about 8,000 journals, 2,000 books, and 7,000 scholarly web sites.  It includes pre-published electronic journal articles and links to the full text.   Database coverage: 1998 to the present.  For more information, please see Fact sheet, Quick Reference Card, and recorded training.

Current awareness publications

[Villeurbanne Cedex, France]: Institut de Recherches sur la Catalyse,
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Serials » Shelved by title 2009:NO.5-8
"The objective of these Notebooks is to ensure the widest possible dissemination of notable results in Organometallic Chemistry, to suggest new opportunities for research, and to aid in teaching. Written in English since 1985, they contains extracts of recent publications and give schematic representations of results in the application of organometallic compounds in organic synthesis and homogeneous catalysis, new organometallic reactions, or new aspects of bioinorganic and materials chemistry."
Cambridge : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .C37 F 2009
"Offers graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods. Provides fast and effective access to the latest research. Each item is indexed by Authors, Products, Reactants and Catalysts, Catalyst Type and Reaction Type."
Nottingham, England : Royal Society of Chemistry
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This online database provides key information on hazards encountered by laboratory workers in all fields including R&D, analytical and hospital laboratories, scanned from the primary scientific and trade literature worldwide. Coverage includes: chemical and biological hazards; leaks, spills and unplanned releases; hazardous waste management; fires and explosions; safety legislation; precautions and safe practices; occupational health and hygiene monitoring; and protective equipment.

Databases

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 42 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Books

Selected textbooks

6th ed. / New York : Wiley, c1999.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD151.2 .C68 1999
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD475 .L5 2008
2nd ed., rev. and expanded. New York : Marcel Dekker, Inc., c1999.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP601.7 .B56 1999
Mill Valley, Calif. : University Science Books, c1994.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP531 .B543 1994
2nd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP531 .S54 2001
Sausalito, Calif. : University Science Books, c2007.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP531 .B547 2007
2nd ed. Oxford ; Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, 1997.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD466 .G74 1997
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. : Wiley, 2009.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP517 .Q34 C66 2009
New York : Wiley, c1999.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD95 .I486 1999 V.1
Sausalito, Calif. : University Science Books, c2000.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP531 .P47 2000
Mill Valley, Calif. : University Science Books, c1994.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP531 .L55 1994
5th ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD151.5 .S57 2010

Journals

Journal Citation Reports - JCR 2013
[Philadelphia, Pa.] : Institute for Scientific Information, c1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR Web helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions. With JCR, authors and editors can identify the most appropriate, influential journals in which to publish, and researchers can discover where to find the current reading list in their respective fields. Journal Citation Reports Product Information. Journal Citation Reports Training.

Encyclopedias

[Place of publication not identified] : Wiley.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated quarterly, the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry is the result of a merger of the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins. Information is grouped specifically for each major element; by its relations within the periodic table such as electronic structure or coordination chemistry; by detailed descriptions of singular compounds or by the applications or methods of the inorganic or bioinorganic material.
2nd ed. Boca Raton [Fla.] : Taylor & Francis, c2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Topics in this 5 volume work include fullerenes and carbon nanotubes, quantum dots and inorganic nanowires, interfacial chemistry, nanostructures, analytical and characterization methods, design and fabrication techniques of nanocomposites, properties of functional nanomaterials, nanostructured catalysts, molecular electronics, optical devices, bionanotechnology, colloidal phenomena--even future and environmental considerations about nanotechnology.
[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley-Interscience
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included.
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The encyclopedia presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focusing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena, Structural Phenomena, Fundamental Core Theory, Structural Materials, Polymers and Materials Chemistry, and Functional Materials.

Major reference works

Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Pergamon , 2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD474 .C65 2004 V.1
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II (CCC II) is the sequel to what has become a classic in the field, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987. CCC II builds on the first and surveys new developments authoritatively in over 200 newly comissioned chapters, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II
[2nd ed.]. Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier, c2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II reviews and examines topics of relevance to today's inorganic chemists. Covering more interdisciplinary and high impact areas, it includes biological inorganic chemistry, solid state chemistry, materials chemistry, and nanoscience. The new work also complement other recent Elsevier works in this area, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry and Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry, to form a trio of works covering the whole of modern inorganic chemistry.
[1st ed.] Oxford, New York, Pergamon Press [1973]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD151.2 .C64 V.1
A 5-volume set including history; preparation; production; physical, chemical & thermodynamic properties; compounds; spectra; analytical chemistry and more, of the elements, arranged by periodic table group.
This comprehensive work is designed to address the need for a dynamic, authoritative and readily accessible source of information, capturing the full breadth of the subject. Its five volumes, covering a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences. The work focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure and applications.
[3rd ed.]. Amsterdam : Elsevier, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD411.C652 2007 V.1
Presents a comprehensive overview of the major developments in the field since 1993 providing general and significant insights. Highlights the expansion of applications in organometallic chemistry with a strong organic synthesis focus. Provides a structured first point of entry to the key literature and background material for those planning research, teaching and writing about the area.
1st ed. New York : Pergamon, 1996.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD411 .C66 1996 v.1
Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry covers for the first time in eleven detailed volumes the inter- and multidisciplinary area of modern supramolecular chemistry. This subject, which has now reached an astonishing diversity and complexity, has developed at a remarkably rapid pace following the initial discoveries of crown ethers and cryptands in the late sixties. The many carefully selected illustrations and instructive schematic representations make the chapters easily readable.
8th ed. Leipzig : Verlag Chemie g.m.b.H., 1924-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Retired Reference (non-circulating) » QD151 .G52
The Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry is a comprehensive treatise that provides a collection of data in the fields of inorganic, organometallic, and physical chemistry. Also included are the areas of physics, metallurgy, geochemistry, mineralogy, and crystallography. The original source of the data is referenced. The text also includes tables of numerical data, curves, and other graphic material, including diagrams of apparatus. There are three basic parts to Gmelin, the Main Series volumes, Supplements to the Main Series, and a New Supplement Series. The set is shelved by the element symbol — consult the molecular formula index to determine which volume a compound is in. Selected data from print Gmelin is available online via the Reaxys database.
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)

Handbooks

Handbooks and Property Databases

2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : [Great Britain] : Wiley-VCH, 2002.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD505 .A67 2002 V.1
Homogeneous catalysis is the success story of organometallic chemistry. Bulk and fine chemicals, and even natural products are being produced via homogeneous organometallic catalysis. This handbook contains both basic research and industrial applications. It also has both state-of-the-art and concise treatment of important catalytic reactions and processes.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve » QD921 .C36 2015
The CSD is the world repository of small molecule crystal structures. Stanford has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. We also have a site license for the Cambridge Crystallographic Database System and SuperStar.
Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records).
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » QD65 .H3 95TH 2014/2015
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Section 18 contains sources of physical and chemical data.
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Chemistry, Paul Anastas, this handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green products and green processes. This handbook is being published online in three parts: Vols 1 to 6 covering green catalysis and green solvents in 2010, followed by vols 7 to 9 in 2011 covering green processes and 10 to 12 in 2012 covering green products.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : ǂb John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.
New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD155.5 .P37 2003
This handbook is an invaluable resource for chemists, chemical engineers, laboratory technicians, and environmental engineers. Covering over 2000 of the most popular industrial chemicals, it details the chemical reactions the subject chemicals undergo either in preparation or naturally--all presented in a dynamic, easy-to-understand style.
Chichester ; New York : Wiley, c2001-c2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP552 .M46 H363 2001 V.1
The first two volumes focuses on a number of metals, including iron, nickel, manganese, cobalt, copper and vanadium. Volume three focuses on proteins found in the redox-inactive ions of zinc and calcium. The online version of this Handbook has been recently updated with some key new articles in this research area. This title has merged with the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry which will be updated quarterly.
Porphyrins, phthalocyanines and their numerous analogues and derivatives are materials of tremendous importance in chemistry, materials science, physics, biology and medicine. They are the red color in blood (heme) and the green in leaves (chlorophyll); they are also excellent ligands that can coordinate with almost every metal in the Periodic Table. This handbook will prove to be a modern authoritative treatise on the subject as it is a collection of up-to-date works by world-renowned experts in the field.
San Diego, Calif. : London : Academic, c2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QC173.4 .S94 H363 2001 V.1
This handbook brings together all aspects of the chemistry, physics, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces of materials studied in academic and industrial research. It covers different experimental and theoretical aspects of surfaces and interfaces, their physical properties, and spectroscopic techniques that have been applied to a wide class of inorganic, organic, polymer, and biological materials.
Karlsruhe : Fachinformationszentrum ; Gaithersburg : NIST,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) is the world's largest comprehensive database on the complete structural information for crystalline inorganic compounds. The data are carefully evaluated from relevant scientific literature. Besides the bibliographic information each dataset contains compound name, molecular formula, as well as space group, unit cell parameters, atomic coordinates and temperature factors.
2nd ed. / Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP200 .S26 2005
The updated second edition of the popular Inorganic Materials Chemistry Desk Reference remains a valuable resource in the preparation of solid-state inorganic materials by chemical processing techniques. It also expands upon new chemical precursors available to materials scientists, the applications of those materials, and existing or emerging topics where materials chemistry plays an important role, such as in microelectronics, surface science, and nanotechnology.
1st online ed. Chester, England : International Union of Crystallography ; New York : Springer, c2006.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The series contains articles and data on crystallographic research and applications of crystallographic methods on the structure and properties of materials. Symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and physical and chemical properties of crystals are emphasized. Each volume includes discussions of theory, practical explanations, and examples for educators.
Version 1.0. [S.l.] : Distributed by NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Measurement Services Division, 2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
These solubilities are compiled from 18 volumes of the International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry(IUPAC)-NIST Solubility Data Series. The database includes liquid-liquid, solid-liquid, and gas-liquid systems. Typical solvents and solutes include water, seawater, heavy water, inorganic compounds, and a variety of organic compounds such as hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, alcohols, acids, esters and nitrogen compounds. There are over 67,500 solubility measurements and over 1800 references.
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Knovel is the leading online technical reference resource for 3 reasons. (1) Knovel locates more potentially relevant answers in a collection. (2) Knovel is better at quickly narrowing the potential answers to those most relevant to your search. (3) Knovel has interactive tables and graphs to help you use and export data.
New York : McGraw-Hill, c1973-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD65 .L36 2005
A standard reference for chemists for 70 years, this new Sixteenth Edition has been recently enhanced to feature 17 interactive tables listing the various physical constants, critical properties and thermodynamic values of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database.
Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library.

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)

Dictionaries

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
15th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD5 .C74 2007
This book is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
Version 1.0.0. [Research Triangle Park, N.C.] : International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Media » QD5 .I86 2006
The Compendium is referred to as the "Gold Book", in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition. It is one of the series of IUPAC "Colour Books" on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units, and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books. The result is a collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
6th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » Q123 .M34 2003
Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions, this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term. Available online as part of AccessScience.
Oxford, UK : Oxford University Press, [2000]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words--past and present--from across the English-speaking world. In addition to present day meanings, you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language--traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.

Directories

New York, Bowker.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Q141 .A48 ED.32:V.8 2014
This respected resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.
Washington.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5521 .A52 2011
DGRweb, the searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR), is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical researchers at universities in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. With the DGRweb you can search for faculty and institutions.
Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. This database merges Gale's reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, keyword and full text. Includes Who's Who in Science and Engineering.

Nomenclature and Standards

Cambridge, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing/IUPAC, . c2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD149 .N659 2005
This new edition of the 'Red Book' clarifies and updates recommendations concerning the names and formulae of inorganic compounds and reflects major recent developments in inorganic chemistry. In order to choose the most appropriate of the various nomenclature systems described, a flowchart is provided to guide the reader to a section or chapter where rules can be found for a particular type of compound or species.
his glossary contains definitions for about 400 terms used in the multidisciplinary field of bioinorganic chemistry and was compiled to address a need for globally acceptable definitions of terms in this field. It is by no means a comprehensive dictionary. Terms selected were those considered essential or widely used. Definitions reflect current usage and complement IUPAC guidelines. Abbreviations and acronyms, frequently used in bioinorganic chemistry, are also included.
Dordrecht, Holland ; Boston, U.S.A. : D. Reidel Pub. Co. ; Hingham, MA : Sold and distributed in the U.S.A. and Canada by Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, 1984-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD908 .I56 F V.A 1995
Volume G: Definition and exchange of crystallographic data. Describes CIF, the data exchange standard of crystallography. Provides: information for scientists who wish to record or use the results of a single-crystal or powder diffraction experiment; the data ontology necessary for designing interoperable computer applications; accompanying software including machine-readable CIF dictionaries, libraries and utility programs. An essential guide and reference to CIF for programmers, data managers handling crystal-structure information and practising crystallographers.

Software

Knovel Widget

Synthesis

New Inorganic Synthetic Chemistry Books

  1. [edited by] Gregory S. Girolami, Alfred P. Satterberger. 2014

  2. edited by Bruno Pignataro. 2012

  3. Ulrich Schubert and Nicola Hüsing. 2012

Deerfield Beach, Fla. : VCH Publishers, c1986-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .I623 1986 INDEX:PT.1
Rather than producing a collection of unrelated review articles, this series creates a framework that reflects the creative potential of this scientific discipline. In a clear, concise, and highly organized manner, it provides an in-depth treatment of bond formation reactions categorized by element type. The series covers all areas of inorganic chemistry including chemistry of the elements, coordination compounds, donor-acceptor adducts, organometallic, polymer and solid-state material, and compounds relevant to bioinorganic chemistry. A unique index system provides users with several fast options for accessing information on forming any bond type, compound, or reaction.
New York [etc.] Wiley [etc.] 1939-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD156 .I56 V.35 2010
This series provides detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds. With recent volumes covering the latest hot topics and developing areas such as organometallic chemistry, main group chemistry and ligands, co-ordination chemistry and applications in material science, this series is also of use to organic and organometallic chemists, biochemists and materials scientists.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
New York : Georg Thieme Verlag, 1996-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD411 .S96 1996 V.1
Designed as a benchtop tool, the series includes detailed and reliable experimental procedures for the preparation of common but important starting compounds, organized according to the periodic table. Properties of the compounds and additional references are also provided. In most cases, no strict borderline has been drawn between inorganic and organometallic compounds. Instead, the material is conveniently presented so that for every group of elements, the various aspects of the chemistry are combined.

Websites