Introduction to theater and performance studies

TAPS 1 - Spring 2017 - Instructor: Diana Looser

Resources for use in the course TAPS 1: Introduction to Theater and Performance Studies.

Citation databases

Use these databases to find articles, book chapers, and books.

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Historical and current newspaper databases

Use these newspaper archives to find reviews of plays and other information related to the performance history of plays.

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
From the ProQuest platform, you may also search other historical newspaper archives, including the San Francisco Chronicle, the Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune. From the "Searching" menu in the upper left-hand corner, select the additional newspaper archives you wish to search.
[Ann Arbor, MI] : Proquest.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
An archive of entertainment industry periodicals, including the casting magazine Back Stage and the British theater periodical The Stage.
[United States?] : Cengage Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Specializes in British newspapers from the 17th century to the 20th century.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contemparary newspapers from around the world.

Streaming video collections

In addition to searching for dvds of theatrical performances in SearchWorks, use these databases to find streaming video of theater productions.

Alexandria, Va. : Alexander Street Press, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Streaming video of performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater.
Access to 37 productions of Shakespeare's plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Reference sources

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference sources in a range of disciplines.