You are here

Italian History

Last Updated: 22-Jan-2013

This guide contains materials for conducting research in Italian history.

Subject Librarians

Curator, French and Italian Collections, Head, International and Area Studies Resource Group
(650) 723-9481

Au Courant -

News on the library front for scholars at Stanford working on French and Italian topics

Italian History Databases

Stanford University Library provides the community with a variety of online databases to facilitate research.  If you are interested in searching multiple databases in Italian history simultaneously, consult Xsearch.  Please note that the Torossa database is not searchable through Xsearch. 

  1. Rich in primary source content from world-class libraries and archives, The First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment provides an essen...

  2. a collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. 2013

    "A multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital vers...

  3. édité par Claude Blum. 2012

    Contains all the different editions of the works of Montaigne from the 16th and 17th centuries, published from the manuscripts and the pr...

  4. A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be compri...

  5. [développé par Etalab].. 2011

    The Government of France's Open Data platform. Access over 350,000 datasets from over 90 producers, on topics such as agriculture, climat...

  6. sous la direction de Bernard Colombat, Jean-Marie Fournier, Wendy Ayres-Bennett. 2011

    "The Grand Corpus des grammaires françaises, des remarques et des traités sur la langue XVe-XVIIe siècles (Great Corpus of French languag...

  7. Online resource offering full text access to Italian and Spanish books, conference proceedings, and journals by major Italian and Spanish...

  8. Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary document...

New Books in Italian History

DG is the subject call number for Italian history.

  1. edited by Dale Townshend and Angela Wright. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » PR5204 .A56 2014

  2. edited by Fabrizio De Donno and Simon Gilson. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » BR872 .B49 2014

  3. Tomaso Walliser, Cecilia Botta. 2014

    » On order » (No call number)

  4. Igor Candido. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » PQ4293 .L4 C36 2014

  5. Paola Modesti. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » PC13 .B5 V.423

Important source works for Italian History

Italian Microfilm Collections

Notable primary sources and collections at Stanford for Italian history

  1. di M. Giouanni Boccaccio ; con una epistola à Messer Pino de Rossi confortatoria del medesimo auttore. 16th century

    Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4270 .C7 1500Z

  2. Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4556 .U2 D58 1501

  3. Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4302 .B06 1506

  4. Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4302 .B07 1507 F

  5. recorrecti et con ogne diligentia nouamente in littera cursiua impresse. 1512

    Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4302 .B12 1512

  6. Special Collections » Gunst Collection (non-circulating)Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » Z239.6 .P34 D36 1515 TPQ4302 .B15 1515 T

  7. Special Collections » Gunst Collection (non-circulating)Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » Z239.9 .A36 D19 1515 CBPQ4302 .B15 1515

  8. Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4302 .B20 1520

  9. Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4270 .A5 1521

  10. Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » PQ4310 .C2 1521