You are here

ITALIC library resources

ITALIC 95W - Fall 2015 - Instructor: Steichen, J.
Last Updated: 1-Oct-2015

This guide lists a selection of research sources in support of ITALIC: Immersion in the Arts: Living in Culture. Some sources are online, but most may be found in the Art & Architecture Library, the Music Library, the Archive of Recorded Sound, and in Green Library.

Multidisciplinary Resources

The following databases are great starting points when beginning your research and all database citations are linked to full-text.


Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
[Mountain View, Calif.] : Google, <2004>-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » (no call number)
Google scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, medical and references.


Suggested art databases including the reference source, Oxford Art Online

[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, c2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Great starting point whether looking for concepts or artists. The Grove Art Online entries include bibliographical references linked to SearchWorks.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text periodical index which covers all areas of art with coverage going back to 1984. Many citations include abstracts and links to full-text.
Oxford, Eng. [etc.] Santa Barbara, Calif., Clio Press [etc.]
Art & Architecture Library (Bowes) » Stacks » Z5935 .L2 V.4:NO.2 1973
Excellent source for citations on photography and modern and contemporary art. Includes abstracts. Coverage includes journals, museum exhibition catalogs and books.


Suggested reference sources

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green Library » Information Center » PN2035 .O94 2010
A concise and updated version of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance ( 2 volumes, 2003). Includes bibliographical references.
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Green Library » Lane Reading Room » PN2035 .O92 2003 V.1
A particular feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of entries on concepts, theories, and critical approaches to theatre and performance, from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres, and from detailed discussion of movements such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism to discussions of semiotics and post-colonial studies.

Suggested databases

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
Alexandria, Va. : Alexander Street Press, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and  film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video.  Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions. Browsable by productions, documentaries, people, companies, genres, theatres, and dates.


Writing about film; concepts; history

These are some of the many film-related reference works found in the Green Library Information Center.  The call number range for works about film is PN 1993-1999.

7th ed. New York : Longman, 2010.
Green Library » Information Center » PN1995 .C66 2010
Provides instructions for and exampes of different wasys of writing about film.
4th ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2013.
Green Library » Information Center » PN1993.45 .H36 2013
Realy useful short essays on key concepts related to film studies, including, for example, expressionism, gender, film noir, third wave, etc.)
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Green Library » Information Center » PN1993.5 .U6 W4942 2012 V.1
Esays on the evolving history of film making, Hollywood, film genres, and social and political aspects of the industry and the art form. Covers earliest times to the present.

Articles on film and TV

Online database of articles (many providing full text online) from academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Online databse of articles (many providing full text) from avademic journals, magazines, books, and trade publicatiions.

Film reviews

Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Salem Press, 1982-
Green Library » Information Center » PN1993.3 .M3 INDEX 1982-86
Listing films that premiered during each calendar year since 1982, provides a plot summary and critical essay, along with a list of reviews in prominent newspapers.
Provides plot summaries and critical essays of films, 1920s-1980s. There are also similar volumes in the PN 1993-1995 section that cover foreign-language films and silent films.
New York, New York Times, 1970 [v.6,1970, c1971]
Green Library » Information Center » PN1995.N4 F V.1
From the "newspaper of record," these film reviews were written by some of America's most influential critics. 



2nd ed. London : Distributed by Macmillan ; New York : Distributed by Grove's Dictionaries, 2001.
Music Library » Reference » ML100 .G883 2001 V.1
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, part of Oxford Music Online, is the premier resource for music scholarship. The print edition of Grove is shelved next to the Circulation Desk. Grove is always a good place to begin your research!
10 volumes cover music around the world. Arranged geographically, and includes audio examples and bibliographies. The print edition is shelved in the Music Reference Room.

Research and writing

Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2009.
Music Library » Reference » ML3797 .G68 2009
The book provides guidance on how to use the various tools of music research.
New York : Longman, c2000.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3797 .B4 2000
Bellman's book outlines different types of writing assignments including criticism, concert reviews, program notes and research papers; audience, use of source material, clarity and style are also covered.