You are here

Jazz

Last Updated: 5-Apr-2013

Find recordings, printed music, books, and articles on all aspects of jazz.

Subject Librarians

Ray Heigemeir
Public Services Librarian for Music
(650) 384-9985

Subjects

Media

Streaming audio

These databases provide access to thousands of jazz releases.  Note that a small number of tracks are not available in the United States.

[S.l.] : Naxos Digital Services Ltd.

A mobile app is available for this database.

[Alexandria, VA] : Alexander Street Press

The Mosaic series

Mosaic records released over 100 CD sets of classic jazz recordings. Browse them here:

  1. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 22323 ...

  2. Duke Ellington. 1999

    Music Library » Recordings » MCD 21861 ...

  3. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 21825 ...

On DVD

Jazz DVDs in the Music LIbrary include the Jazz Icons series, as well as other performances. See also, Ken Burns:

[Washington, D.C.?] : PBS DVD ; Burbank, CA : distributed by Warner Home Video, c2000.
Music Library » Recordings » MDVD 3 EPISODE 1

Jazz discographies

West Vancouver, B.C. : Lord Music Reference, c2006.

General discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to today. Covers all categories of jazz and other creative improvised music, including Traditional, Swing, Bop, Modern, Avant-Garde, Fusion, Third Stream, etc.

Many jazz discographies are available in print in the Archve of Recorded Sound.  A few are also available onlline. Search in SearchWorks, or browse titles here:

  1. Tom Lord. 2004

    Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.4 .J3 L86 2004

  2. Walter Bruyninckx ; Domi Truffandier. 2003

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » ML156.4 .J3 B91 2003 ...

Jazz CDs--new arrivals

All circulating jazz recordings may be searched in the SearchWorks catalog.

  1. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 26072 ...

  2. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 26066 ...

  3. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 26067 ...

  4. Miles Davis. 2013

    Music Library » Recordings » MCD 25981 ...

  5. Tamba Trio. 2012

    Music Library » Recordings » (No call number)

  6. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 25493 ...

  7. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 25494 ...

  8. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 25495 ...

  9. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 26334

  10. Music Library » Recordings » MCD 24250 CD 8

Printed music

Note that scores for jazz solos are shelved with other solo repertoire for individual instruments.

 

Browse the stacks:

M 1366 Jazz ensembles
M 1630.18 Jazz fake books
MT 68 .A334 Jamey Aebersold Play-A-Long series

 

The Aebersold Play-A-Long series numbers over 100 volumes, and have an accompanying CD.

 

Reference works

[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press

Begin your research by reading the article on JAZZ in the New Grove Dictionary, part of Oxford Music Online.

In the Reference Room:

2nd ed. New York : Grove's Dictionaries Inc., 2002.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .J3 N53 2002 V.1
Rev. and updated [ed.]. London : Virgin in association with Muze UK Ltd., 2004.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .J3 V57 2004
3rd ed. New York : Routledge, 2006.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128 .J3 M34 2005
London ; New York : Penguin Books, 2010.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.4 .J3 M67 2010
1st ed. New York : Pantheon Books, c2010.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .J3 F75 2010
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .J3 J46 2004 V.1

Many jazz discographies are available in print in the Archve of Recorded Sound.  A few are also available onlline. Search in SearchWorks, or browse titles here:

  1. Tom Lord. 2004

    Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.4 .J3 L86 2004

  2. Walter Bruyninckx ; Domi Truffandier. 2003

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » ML156.4 .J3 B91 2003 ...

Books and articles

Browse the stacks:

ML 3505- General histories
ML3518 Big bands, dance bands
ML 3561 Jazz in America
MT 68 Improvisation and arrangement


Use the indexes listed on the databases and indexes page to find articles on jazz.

Browse a list of jazz periodicals here

Browse new jazz books:

  1. André Persiani ; avant-propos de Roland Guillon. 2014

    Music Library » Stacks » ML419 .P4823 A3 2014

  2. edited by Gordon E. Thompson (City College of New York, USA). 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » PS310 .J39 B57 2014

  3. Vic Hobson. 2014

    Music Library » Stacks » ML3508.8 .N48 H63 2014

  4. Robert Simon and Marianela Sandoval ; foreword by Quincy Jones. 2014

    Music Library » Stacks » ML419 .G54 S56 2014 F

Archival collections

Most collections are located in the Archive of Recorded Sound.

Monterey Jazz Festival logo

Recordings of live performances throughout the history of this enduring American cultural institution.

The Williams Quartette

Bob Arnold was a popular music historian and collector in Albany, California.

Riverwalk Jazz logo

Riverwalk Jazz: Live At The Landing educated and entertained public radio listeners with a program devoted to celebrating traditional jazz and popular music of the pre-war era.

l to r: Jim Cullum Sr., Willson Davis, Louis Armstrong, Harvey Kindervater, and Jim Cullum Jr., 1965.

The Happy Jazz Band was formed in 1962 by Jim Cullum with his son, Jim Cullum, Jr. in San Antonio, Texas.

Richard Hadlock

Open reel tape recordings of the “Annals of Jazz” radio program produced and hosted by historian and educator Richard Hadlock, broadcast on KCSM, San Mateo between 1982 and 1991.

Earl Hines, New York, ca. Mar. 1947

The Ken Ackerman Collection consists of broadcast recordings of live jazz performances from the 1950s and 60s, captured at various clubs in San Francisco, particularly Club Hangover.

Web resources