You are here

Jekylls and Hydes: Rhetoric of the Scientist

PWR 1GIY - Winter 2015 - Instructor: Yamboliev, I.
Last Updated: 10-Dec-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1GIY: Jekylls and Hydes: Rhetoric of the Scientist.  Researching how various texts construct views of the scientist in relation to truth, power, imagination, and the larger society.  Papers may focus on how a concept of the scientist's private identity develops in contrast to professional identity; what shapes the relationship between the scientist and another cultural institution, such as art, religion, education, or public policy; or, how a particular definition of the scientist emerges in a work of fiction or film.

Subject Librarians

Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

Getting started

1. Use Reference Sources to jumpstart your research, to get ideas, search terms, context, and more.

2. Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorks.

3. Find Articles in Selected Databases. Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 Databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas.
 
4. Ask Your Librarian for help!

Background/reference sources for scientific rhetoric

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Farmington Hills, Mich. : Gale Virtual Reference Library, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2002.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Q141 .K78 2002
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press ; Walton Hill, Milton Keynes [U.K.] : Open University, 2009.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q224 .I68 2009

Selected databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs
Baltimore, MD : National Information Services Corporation,
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Z7164 .S66 A52
Covers journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Merges Gale's reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a portal experience.
New York, N.Y. : Facts On File
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. Includes an extensive full-text collection of biographies, historical documents, editorials, and background articles.
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
New Providence, NJ : Marquis Who's Who
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides biographies of over 1.3 million people of note, in the United States and around the world.