Join the #LoveArmy: The Rhetoric of Radical Compassion

PWR 1JO - Spring 2017 - Instructor: O'Keeffe, J.

A guide for PWR 1JO:  Join the #LoveArmy: The Rhetoric of Radical Compassion

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. NOTE THAT MANY OF THESE BOOKS HAVE CALL NUMBERS THAT START WITH BF575 .E55.  THAT IS THE CALL NUMBER ASSOCIATED WITH THE PSYCHOLOGY OF EMPATHY. BJ1475 IS THE CALL NUMBER ASSOCIATED WITH  RELIGIOUS ASPECTS OF COMPASSION.

Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, c2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » BF575 .E55 L56 2015
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » BF575 .E55 E57 2011
Green Library » Stacks » BJ1475 .E47 2014
This is also an e-book you can read and search online.
Also an ebook! click on the link for fulltext.
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » BF575 .E55 E463 2012
Also an ebook! click on the link for fulltext.
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » BF575 .E55 S63 2009
Also an ebook! click on the link for fulltext.
Basingstoke [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
Green Library » Stacks » BJ1475 .L36 2005
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2008.
Green Library » Stacks » GN289 .B74 2008
First edition.
Green Library » Stacks » BJ1475 .M4285 2016

Recommended Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Pubmed, or Medline. There are several providers of this database. The first link on the Searchworks record is for National Library of Medicine site. But  EBSCO and Proquest provide access to this database too.  I recommend choosing Medline/pubmed from the "Choose" or "Change" databases option within either Proquest or EBSCO. Then you can search PubMed along with the general (Academic Search Premier or Proquest Research Library) databases. You will be able to select results from either, or both, databases.

Sample Search Terms for Searchworks and Databases

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking