Keep current with journal literature

Services to help you find new journal articles of interest.

Journal title alerts

BrowZine
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
BrowZine lets you browse, read and monitor journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. Access BrowZine from a web browser or from an app on these devices: iPads, iPhones, iPod Touches, Android Tablets and Smartphones, and Kindle Fire HD Tablets. You can browse by subject area, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, and save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can be synced with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services. For more information, please see Use BrowZine page.
Web of Knowledge logo small
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Updated daily, Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.   It provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information, including abstracts, from about 8,000 journals, 2,000 books, and 7,000 scholarly web sites.  It includes pre-published electronic journal articles and links to the full text.   Database coverage: 1998 to the present.  For more information, please see Fact sheet, Quick Reference Card, and recorded training.

Identify which journals to follow

Journal Citation Reports - JCR 2013
[Philadelphia, Pa.] : Institute for Scientific Information, c1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR Web helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions. With JCR, authors and editors can identify the most appropriate, influential journals in which to publish, and researchers can discover where to find the current reading list in their respective fields. Journal Citation Reports Product Information. Journal Citation Reports Training.

* Use BrowZine

BrowZine overview image

BrowZine export options

Try BrowZine

Try BrowZine - don't show titles

Current awareness pubs.

[Villeurbanne Cedex, France]: Institut de Recherches sur la Catalyse,
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Serials » Shelved by title 2009:NO.5-8
"The objective of these Notebooks is to ensure the widest possible dissemination of notable results in Organometallic Chemistry, to suggest new opportunities for research, and to aid in teaching. Written in English since 1985, they contains extracts of recent publications and give schematic representations of results in the application of organometallic compounds in organic synthesis and homogeneous catalysis, new organometallic reactions, or new aspects of bioinorganic and materials chemistry."
Nottingham, England : Royal Society of Chemistry
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This online database provides key information on hazards encountered by laboratory workers in all fields including R&D, analytical and hospital laboratories, scanned from the primary scientific and trade literature worldwide. Coverage includes: chemical and biological hazards; leaks, spills and unplanned releases; hazardous waste management; fires and explosions; safety legislation; precautions and safe practices; occupational health and hygiene monitoring; and protective equipment.
Nottingham, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry, c1987-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD415 .A1 N372 2009
Available online, "Natural Product Updates is a literature alerting service keeping you current with recent developments in natural product chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Natural Product Updates topics include isolation of new natural products, biosynthesis, structure elucidation, synthesis and biological activity studies. Content is selected by our trained Editors. The updates include representative structures and are also searchable by topic, source organism, biological activity and structure type. Subscribers can set up personalised searches and receive alerts of the latest developments directly via email." (publisher's description)
Synfacts
Stuttgart : Georg Thieme Verlag, c2005-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
In SYNFACTS current research results in synthetic organic chemistry, as they appear in the primary literature, are screened, selected, evaluated, summarized, and enriched with personal comments by experts in their fields.
Synthetic Reaction Updates
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"To respond to the growing interdisciplinary nature of research in the chemical sciences, RSC discontinued Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions and Methods in Organic Synthesis and merged them into a new product – Synthetic Reaction Updates.  Launched in 2015, Synthetic Reaction Updates is a literature updating service keeping you up to date with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Its scope is all synthetic chemistry, with a focus on organic chemistry and interesting transformations of functional groups.  Covering a wide range of primary sources, Synthetic Reaction Updates includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes that are searchable by topic and reaction type.  Sign up for weekly or monthly alerts." (Publisher's website)

Database alerting services

About the databases

Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 350+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, datasets, full-text ejournal and ebooks, funding opportunities, methods and protocols, patents, streaming media, technical reports, plus more.  A Chemical Safety Search site that includes 70+ resources is also available.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Also includes access to MethodsNow, a curated collection of methods in analytical and synthetic chemistry. (Structure and Reaction Searching)

Recommendation services

Faculty 1000
London : Faculty of 1000 Ltd, [2009]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Faculty of 1000 is the publisher of four unique services that support and inform the work of life scientists and clinicians. F1000Prime and F1000Trials provide a layer of expert opinion and guidance on published articles, and F1000Research and F1000Posters present original and useful work via open access websites that encourage transparency, sharing and debate"