Table of Contents
Laboratory Safety Culture Task Force at Stanford
The charge to the Task Force is to report on the status of safety culture and to provide recommendations to advance a positive culture of safety within academic research laboratories at Stanford. The Task force solicits the thoughtful and scholarly input from the Stanford Community on the current status of the Safety Culture at Stanford and how it might be improved.
The Safety Zone | CENtral Science Blog
C&EN science writer Jyllian Kemsley and safety consultant Russ Phifer cover chemical safety issues in academic and industrial research labs and in manufacturing in The Safety Zone.
- Safety resources mini-round-up
- Safety agency news mini-round-up
- Process Safety Beacon mini-round-up
- Report released on New York high school fire
- Los Angeles district attorney comments on Harran settlement in #SheriSangji case
- Myths of the #SheriSangji case
- Reactions to the Patrick Harran settlement in the #SheriSangji case
- Patrick Harran and district attorney reach deal in #SheriSangji case
- Explosion injures University of Minnesota graduate student
- Trial postponed in UC Davis explosives case
Journal of Chemical Health and Safety
The Journal of Chemical Health and Safety focuses on news, information, and ideas relating to issues and advances in chemical health and safety. Official Publication of the ACS Committee on Chemical Health and Safety
- Pioneers in chemical safety
- Guide for Authors
- Presenting of failure probability assessment pattern by FTA in Fuzzy logic (case study: Distillation tower unit of oil refinery process)
- Industry specific dust explosion likelihood assessment model with case studies
- Incorporating safety into the general chemistry curriculum
- Learning from experience revisited
- Fire modeling of an emerging fire suppression system
- Editorial Board
- What the TSA can teach us about chemical safety
- Hazard assessment
American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Center for Chemical Process Safety.
American Glovebox Society books at SU
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Safety Collection (non-circulating) » T59.7 .G85 2011
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Safety Collection (non-circulating) » TK9152.1645 .G85 2007
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Safety Collection (non-circulating) » TK9151.7 .A443 2011
Protective clothing - more items on this topic
Personal protective equipment for chemical, biological, and radiological hazards [electronic resource] : design, evaluation, and selection
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » T55.3 .P75 S878 2013
Undergrad lab safety
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
For Chemistry 132 Students
Safe lab practices
Bio, nano, lasers safety
For Stanford information, please see: Stanford EH&S > BioSafety Program
For Stanford information, please see: Stanford University - General Principles and Practices for Working Safely with Engineered Nanomaterials
For Stanford information, please see: Stanford EH&S > Laser Safety Program
Safe chemical handling
Handling, Labelling, and Storing Chemicals
This page contains handbooks on hazardous substances. Please see "Find MSDS and Properties" page in this guide for databases containing property information. In addition, the "Find Reference and Books" page in this guide has links to the most popular chemistry handbooks.
Handbooks & Data
Encyclopedias and Major Reference Works
Guides to the Literature
Wastes & spills
Spill & Emergency Response
Find substance ID
Find MSDS & properties
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
Find protocols & methods
Find reactions & articles
Safety Literature Databases
About using this guide
Use this guide to:
- Identify personal protective equipment and training needed before working in the laboratory.
- Read about best practices for safe operations in the lab.
- Consult materials about safe handling of chemicals.
- See resources for working safely with biological materials, nanoengineered materials, and lasers.
- Become knowledgeable about hazardous and reactive substances that you may use or that may be formed in reactions during your experiments.
- View resources on toxicology, waste management, and spills.
- Visit websites to learn more about safety-related organizations.
The "Find" sections at the end of this guide contain searchable databases for finding chemical health and safety information. Sections include:
- Find substance identification information are resources to help you locate a CAS Registry Number, a unique identifier for a substance. CAS RNs enable you to do a more precise and comprehensive search than may be possible if you are searching by chemical name.
- Find MSDS and chemical and physical properties for substances by searching databases.
- Find protocols are intended to help you find procedures, practices, and methods you can use in the laboratory.
- Find reactions and articles in databases to learn more about experimental conditions and what reactions have been reported in the literature for substances you are working with in the lab.
Related subject guides include "major reference works" if you need background information about topics such as a working with a class of compounds or a particular functional group.
Reagent - Triphosgene
Find Chemical Substance Identification Information
Find MSDS and Physical Properties
- Lab Safety Demo - Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. Web Information Service.
- Lab Safety Demo - Combined Chemical Dictionary
- Lab Safety Demo - Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
- Lab Safety Demo - Reaxys
Find References and Reactions
- Lab Safety Demo - SciFinder : Substance and References (Part 1: Substance ID, Properties, and Literature References)
- Lab Safety Demo - SciFinder : Reactions (Part 2: Triphosgene as Reagent in Reaction Searches)
- Lab Safety Demo - SciFinder : Reactions - Product (Part 3: Reaction search for a product that may include Triphosgene as a reactant or reagent)
Please note: until permission is granted from information providers, access to "Lab Safety Demo" searches are limited to Stanford users.